Vanilla Buttercream Frosting

I was ignorant.

Remember when I told you I didn’t find any difference between cakes or cupcakes?  Well, I jumped to conclusions too fast.  I didn’t sample enough cupcakes to know the value of this tiny treat.  The answer came from my buddy Bianca.

“…I think the cupcake gets a couple extra points for … having a better frosting-cake ratio.”

Talk about spot on.

And if you were to ask me 10 years ago, I would have not cared about frosting.  Shocking.  I hadn’t  sampled enough buttercreams to know the value of frosting.

I fixed that.

The best vanilla buttercream I have ever eaten.  Not overly sweet and balances well with the cake.  The vanilla and butter flavors work together perfectly to give you a delicious buttercream that also lends itself to easy frosting and piping.  I already have plans on using this for pending birthday cakes and of course, more cupcakes of every flavor.

Oh, and I’m keen on sprinkles too!

Vanilla Buttercream

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of butter, softened
  • 4 cups of confectioners (powdered) sugar, sifted
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 6 tbsp heavy cream

Directions:

  1. Cream butter until pale and fluffy.
  2. Add powdered sugar to the creamed butter until incorporated.
  3. After the sugar and butter have nicely come together, add the salt, vanilla and cream.
  4. Beat at high-speed until the mixture becomes light and resembles frosting.
15 Comments

Filed under baking, Cake, Cupcake, Uncategorized, Vegetarian

15 responses to “Vanilla Buttercream Frosting

  1. Yummmm! Thanks for the shout out. I recently had dental surgery and can only eat soft/mushy foods, so I would like a tub of buttercream right now (with cupcakes)…

  2. Oh, yes, that frosting to cake ratio is SO important! I used to like cake better because you can have a really big piece and still count it as one serving—but I’ve learned to love frosting, and I think I’d prefer the cupcake portion size with extra frosting!

  3. Frosting is my favorite!! Seriously, we always have some in our freezer. 🙂
    Thanks for the recipe – I’m keeping this for my next batch!

  4. It doesn’t get much better than sugar and butter:-)

  5. Pingback: Banana Cupcakes with Butterscotch Buttercream | OliePants

  6. Pingback: Oreo Cake with Oreo & Vanilla Buttercream Frosting | OliePants

  7. Pingback: Cake Balls | OliePants

  8. Pingback: Vanilla Bean Cake | OliePants

  9. Pingback: Biscoff Buttercream Frosting | OliePants

  10. Pingback: Turning 30 Turned up Rainbows [Cake] | OliePants

  11. LIz

    I just made this frosting and it is SPECTACULAR!!!! Thank you so much for this recipe. It was so easy to make and so delicious.

  12. Pingback: Your Favorites of 2012 | OliePants

  13. Pingback: Isaiah’s Curious George Themed First Birthday Party | OliePants

Leave a Reply

