Biscoff Buttercream Frosting

My friend and I go for a three-mile walk every other day.  And, like a true foodie, we spend that time talking about food.  Oh dear.  I talk to her about what I’m planning to bake, for who, and more food-related information that I find very riveting.  She talks to me about her foodie finds and why she loves them.  She was late to the Biscoff game.  God bless her.

I told her I usually eat it with a Magic Pop or with my oatmeal (recipe coming soon).  When she told me about her husband’s upcoming birthday, I told her I had a better use for our beloved Biscoff.

After some experimenting and taste-testing, I found that Biscoff lends itself beautifully as frosting.  Paired with a dark chocolate cake like this or this, this sweet frosting is sure to be a delight.  There is no subduing the flavor of the cookie butter as it really and truly stands out as the main ingredient.  Why would you want it any other way?

Note:  This is a crusting buttercream frosting, so it works well for decorations and piping, as well.  

Biscoff Buttercream Frosting

adapted from my Vanilla Buttercream Frosting

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup of smooth Biscoff spread
  • 8 cups of powdered sugar, sifted
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 8 tablespoons of heavy cream (or whole milk)

Directions:

  1. Cream together the butter and Biscoff.
  2.  Reduce the speed of your mixer and slowly add the powdered sugar until fully incorporated.
  3. Add the salt and vanilla extract and mix together.
  4. Slowly add the cream (or milk) until its creamy.  Add more cream (or milk) if you desire a looser consistency.
  5. Beat the whole mixture at high-speed to make sure everything is completely mixed in, smooth and fluffy.
4 Comments

Filed under Cake, Frostings & Fillings

4 responses to “Biscoff Buttercream Frosting

  1. Biscoff Buttercream??? Gahh!! I don’t even need a cake to put this on; just give me a spoon!

  2. Oh my biscoff frosting!! I’m saving this for the next birthday cake I make. 🙂

Leave a Reply

