A Purposeful Cupcake

This weekend, we celebrated Bink’s 34th birthday.  And what has the 34-year-old Binks been wanting for his birthday?  Why none other than the mighty cupcake.

What’s the purpose to the cupcake?  Read to the very end and find out!

Call me ignorant – well for many reasons but namely this one – I don’t care whether it’s cupcake or cake.  I like both and both love me.

Binks, on the other hand, will go bonkers for a cupcake over a cake any day.  Even if we were at a party and there was a delectable cake and an average looking cupcake, he would reach for the cupcake.  I don’t get it.  Maybe you can explain it to me?

To me, it’s the difference between picking a blue M&M as opposed to a red one.  Am I stirring up some feathers?  I apologize.

Meet Bink’s birthday cuppy-cake.  The cake recipe is the same that’s used here.  I will never buy or make another yellow cake again now that I have this.

The frosting is none other than a chocolate butter cream.  Again, I won’t look any further.  I’m happy with what I concocted.

Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  • 4.5 cups powdered sugar
  • 1.25 cups cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1/4 tsp salt
Directions:
  1. Cream butter in your mixer on medium speed.
  2. Gradually add in powdered sugar.
  3. Gradually add cocoa powder.
  4. Add vanilla extract.
  5. Add cream.
  6. Add salt.
  7. The consistency should be soft, light and spreadable.  Keep scraping down the pan so that all the ingredients are incorporated.
Trust me, there is nothing better than laying out on the couch after dinner with one of these in your hand.
P.S. Want to take a wild guess as to why I’m eating cupcakes in a blue liner from a blue plate?
🙂
Did you guess?  Do you prefer a cake or a cupcake?  Do you prefer a color M&M?  If you do, tell me why please!  I want to understand!
18 Comments

Filed under baking, Cake, Desserts, Favorites, Vegetarian

18 responses to “A Purposeful Cupcake

  1. oh my Gosh oh my GOSH I think I know the purpose of the BLUUUUUEEE!

  2. Happy birthday Binks! I love cakes and cupcakes equally too, but I think the cupcake gets a couple extra points for: 1) being cuter (and smaller means I can eat more right?) and 2) having a better frosting-cake ratio 🙂

    Oh and does blue mean it’s a boy??!?? Congrats!!

  3. There is no difference to me…. a cupcake is just a perfectly neat cake for one person. I love them both.

    And the M&M thing…. nope. If it has a peanut in it… I’m good! lol

  4. yay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i love blue 🙂

  5. your frosting job looks so neat, like it came from a store! my hands must be super shaky or i’m just seriously impatient… mine always look like such a mess, i’m so jealous. I am inspired though, next time i will try to make them as pretty as yours.

  6. Happy birthday, Binks! Your cupcakes look absolutely incredible 🙂 I prefer cupcakes to cake- more frosting! No color preference for M&Ms… I eat them so fast I’m not even paying attention!

  7. i prefer ice cream over cake. does that count? Or rather muffins, weird eh?

  8. I think I feel the same about cupcakes and cakes… it is all the same. Same with M & Ms.

    But when I was little, I used to give up for lent cake… but not cupcakes. I thought I was beating the system. And if there was cake, I would just take a piece, slice it up like a cupcake and then convince myself it was not cake and I could eat it.

    These look amazing! The frosing is so perfectly spread on! Yum!

  9. I thought they were going to have some sort of colored filling, too!!
    Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (p.s. boys are pretty much the bomb)

  10. These are beautiful! And I’m with Bink on the cupcakes… they’re always more appealing to me than cake though I’m not quite sure why… maybe because they’re easier to eat? No fork required!

  11. Oh congrats!!!!!!!!!!! A baby boy. 🙂 🙂 Precious. Those cupcakes look delicious. I agree about the appeal of a cupcake – it’s good portion control, too. 😉

  12. BLUE?! A baby boy perhaps?! Or, if you are like me, just a HUGE fan of blue and would use it for boy or girl? 🙂

    Love these gorgeous cupcakes – making my stomach growl!

  13. Hooray for baby boys! Congrats! And happy bday to the man!

  14. It’s a boy! Congratulations! How exciting for you guys…do you have any names in mind??

    I am not a fan of cake or cupcakes. The truth is that I just usually have a couple bites of frosting and call it a day. Cookies are a totally different story for me though…

  15. Hmm… is it the ratio of frosting to cake? (i.e. MORE frosting per square inch on a cupcake!?! ha). I love me some frosting, and am that annoying person who always wants a corner piece of cake!
    Happy Birthday, Binks!

    A boy? Congrats.
    I have a little 3.5 year old boy in my life 5 days a week, and the stuff he comes up with daily… CRACKS. ME. UP. I’m sure you’ll enjoy! 🙂

    ~

  16. Pingback: OliePants

  17. This is AWESOME!!! Congratulations!!! I have to go with Binks on the cake/cupcake debate. I’d rather have a cupcake any day as well. Unless we’re talking ice cream cake. 🙂

  18. Pingback: Vanilla Buttercream Frosting | OliePants

Leave a Reply

