Sugar Cookie Revisited

A few weeks before my father passed, new neighbors moved in next to their home.  Specifically, a family associated with a motorcycle group.  I remember seeing them and thinking that it would be bad for the neighborhood based on nothing but my own stereotypes.  After my dad passed, seeing them angered me more.  To me, it was bad enough my mom had to deal with the loss in the house, but to add the added noise and raucous of the neighbors made me frustrated.  In hindsight, I just wanted to be mad at anyone else to avoid dealing with the loss.

So, imagine the humble pie I was served when my sister called to inform me that the new neighbors mowed my mom’s entire lawn after learning of my dad’s passing.  Imagine the shame I felt when my sister called me the following month to say they did it again.  Feeling both embarrassed at how much I had judged a family for nothing and simultaneously thankful at their graciousness, I cried that day.  After crying, I baked.  I baked to thank.  And, I have decided to bake them something once a month to show that their gesture does not go unnoticed.

These cookies seemed appropriate for February.  I used a different recipe from my usual to try something new.

I loved these cookies.  If you can believe it, one sugar cookie doesn’t necessarily taste like the other.  My usual sugar cookie tastes rich, buttery and very chewy – almost dense with sugar.  These taste wonderfully in a completely different way.  It’s light, perfectly sweet and fluffy.  These cookies puff up when baking and almost melt in your mouth when you bite down.

My sister stole a couple and said these were the best sugar cookies she has eaten.  I have to agree they are great.  I would definitely make them again depending on my mood/preference.  I’ve learned not to be so rigid.

Sugar Cookies
barely adapted from here

Yields approximately 48 medium-sized cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2-3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup butter, softened (I usually leave my butter sticks out overnight)
  • 1-1/2  cups white granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1-1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • Additional sugar for rolling.  (I used colored sugar)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 F degrees.
  2. Sift together the flour, baking soda, and baking powder.
  3. In a separate large bowl, cream the butter and sugar until smooth and well blended.
  4. Add the egg and vanilla extract.  Mix until incorporated.
  5. Add the flour mixture in three batches and mix in between each addition.
  6. Using a cookie scoop, roll each scoop into the sugar.
  7. Place each cookie onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.
  8. Bake for 8-9 minutes until lightly browned on the bottom.
  9. Once you remove the sheet from the oven, cool on the sheet for about 2 minutes and then move to wire racks to completely cool.
  10. Store in an airtight container.
7 Comments

Filed under baking, Cookies, Desserts, Life

7 responses to “Sugar Cookie Revisited

  1. Mmmmmm….these sound and look wonderful!
    I bet the new neighbors would gladly be the brunt of your anger, if they knew it helped you cope with losing your father in some tiny way. We all do things like that—the important part is that you now see what really happened!

  2. I’m sure your neighbors would understand if they knew you were mad initially. Forgiveness and understanding and compassion are pretty amazing qualities. Sounds like you both have these. 🙂

  3. love this beautiful post! we’ve all been quick to judge at one time or another. I know I certainly have. how lovely that they mow your mom’s lawn – that brings a big smile to my face. and I love that you baked them a thank you treat to acknowledge them. these are the situations that make the world go round! 🙂

  4. I think we are all guilty of quick judgment….but you are a fabulous person for baking them a thank you. Don’t be so hard on yourself my friend…you’ve been through a lot and are allowed to make mistakes!

  5. I agree with Ameena, we all make bad judgement calls sometimes. The fact that you owned up to it and took the time to bake some thank you cookies makes up for it in my book. You were going through a hard time and you just wanted to make sure your mom was living comfortably with her new neighbors, that’s very sweet and caring of you.

  6. Aw, I’m glad to hear that your neighbors turned out okay 🙂 It’s really easy to make snap judgments and I do all the time, even though I know I shouldn’t. That being said… I’m STILL convinced my next door neighbor is a serial killer, haha.

    I hope you and your mom are doing okay, as well as your little one!

  7. One thing that helps me not judge bikers anymore – some great friends of mine are bikers and part of a group called BACA, Bikers Against Child Abuse. These burly, leather clad men and women are advocates for abused children, and will even accompany the kids to court, school, wherever if they don’t feel safe. They fight on their behalf, and it amazes me constantly their generosity and giving spirits. I know not all bikers are this way, but it helps me squash the stereotypes. ❤

Leave a Reply

