Oreo Cake with Oreo & Vanilla Buttercream Frosting

Recently, I baked a cake for a local club that was raising money for a charity event.  Like I need an excuse to bake a cake.  They had no preference for the type but because the event would be attended by both adults and children.  Wanting to appeal to both groups, I went for a classic.  Chocolate cake with layers of Oreo buttercream, topped with vanilla buttercream.  I dare you to resist.

I wanted to get a picture of the inside but after I set it down, all that was left was crumbs and a smear of buttercream.  Bad for blog.  Good for tummies.

I used some help from Bridget to assemble the whole thing.  I used one of my favorite chocolate cakes (multiplied it by two) and my go-to buttercream (multiplied by two) to start the filling  for the cake.  As you are using the same delicious buttercream for the base, the whole process is relatively easy compared to the outcome.

Chocolate Cake I doubled this cake and used three of the layers.  The other layer…more to come on that. 

– recipe from Ina Garten
–  yields two 8″ layers

Ingredients:

  • 1 and 3/4 cups all-purpose flour, sifted
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  •  3/4 cups good cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 cup buttermilk, shaken
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 extra-large eggs, room temperature
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup freshly and strongly brewed hot coffee

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350F.  Butter and flour the two 8-inch round cake pans.
  2. Into the bowl your mixer, sift together the flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder and salt.  With the paddle attachment, mix on low  until combined.
  3. In another bowl, beat together the eggs, buttermilk, oil and vanilla extract.
  4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients slowly until fully incorporated.
  5. Pour the hot coffee into he fully mixed batter and mix on low.  Stop the mixer as needed to scrape the bowl and mix to ensure that the batter doesn’t contain inconsistencies.  The mixture will be very liquidy.
  6. Pour the batter into the prepared pans.
  7. Bake in the preheated oven for 35-40 minutes, until it passes the toothpick test.
  8. Remove from the oven and cool in the pans for thirty minutes.  After, cooled, turn the cake over onto a cooling rack to fully cool.
  9. Once cool, get ready to frost.

Oreo Buttercream

Ingredients:

Directions:

  1. Divide the buttercream into two.  One part will be used for the frosting and one for the Oreo filling.  The half reserved for the frosting, save 1/3 cup of that and put side into a small bowl.  In the 1/3 cup of frosting, add 1/4 cup powdered sugar to stiffen.  Add the stiffened frosting to a plastic bag for piping.  When you are ready to assemble the cake, cut a corner of the plastic bag to pipe the frosting.
  2. Add the crushed Oreos to the half reserved for the Oreo filling.
  3. You should have three types of frosting now.
  4. Get ready to assemble.

Assembling the Cake

  1. Place one of the cooled cakes, with the flat side on top.
  2. Pipe half of the stiffened frosting to outline the cake layer.
  3. Add half of the Oreo buttercream to fill the cake and stay inside the frosting outline.
  4. Place the other cooled cake layer with the flat side on top.
  5. Pipe the other half of the stiffened frosting to outline the cake layer.
  6. Add the remaining Oreo buttercream to fill the cake.
  7. Place the last cooled cake layer with the flat side on top.
  8. Crumb coat – apply a thin layer of the vanilla buttercream around the cake and make sure the cake is completely covered with a thin layer of buttercream.
  9. refrigerate the coated cake for at least an hour to fully set.
  10. Once refrigerated, using the remaining buttercream to frost the cake.
  11. You will have extra buttercream, which you can either use for piping borders, decorations, or save for cake balls.   ::foreshadowing::
19 Comments

Filed under Cake, Desserts, Uncategorized

19 responses to “Oreo Cake with Oreo & Vanilla Buttercream Frosting

  1. I was just telling my son yesterday that I wanted to make oreo cupcakes! I may steal this from you. 🙂

  2. This is definitely something I wouldn’t even try to resist. And yes I think we are foodie soul mates!

  3. Gorgeous! My husband has an addiction to Oreos and would love this.

  4. You had me at Oreo…. this would put me into sugar shock, but I still want it!

  5. Holy crap this looks awesome! I struggle with baking and tend to forget ingredients (why I am better at cooking) which is never good for the outcome of a cake!

  6. Pingback: Cake Balls | OliePants

  7. Thank you for mentioning the batter would be runny. It kind of freaked me out because it was so runny. The layers are out of the oven and cooling. I can’t wait to taste the completed cake tonight. It’s for my baby girl’s 11th birthday!

    • Yes really runny to where you wonder how it will work. And it works in a wonderful way! Hope you like it! Happy birthday to your sweet girl.

      • Everyone who ate my cake has asked for the recipe. There’s none left. My husband said it ranked in the top of the list for one of the best cakes he has ever eaten! Definitely a winning recipe!!!

      • I’m so glad you (and everyone) liked it. I have to say it’s one of my favorite cake recipes, too. Thanks for letting me know how it turned out! 🙂

  8. Pingback: Biscoff Buttercream Frosting | OliePants

  9. Pingback: Ice Cream Cupcakes | OliePants

  10. Pingback: Your Favorites of 2012 | OliePants

Leave a Reply

