Mandelbaum Mandelbaum!

Now…just replace the baum with bread and you get —-  MANDEL BREAD!

“It’s go time!”

I am a big fan of Ashley.  I am also a big fan of biscotti (although I have never made it – just inhaled it).  Now, when Ashley said that she thought she found something “better than biscotti“, I just had to give it a go.  (Afterall, she did convince me to make my own coconut butter!)

After reading her recipe, I knew I wanted to try the vegan version!

Can I tell you something?  I have never ever made a vegan-version of anything before – let alone desserts!  It has been ingrained into me that to bake, you have to use butter, sugar and eggs.  This recipe blew that idea out of the water.

I made my first ever flax egg!

And then there was mandel bread!

Now, honey – let me teeeell you!  I just came from a week of eating chocolate chip cookies and this – as proclaimed by both Binks and I – this was one of the most delicious refreshing cookies ever!  I will absolutely be making these again.

The recipe was full-flavored, nutty, crunchy, and light.  Had a great crumb and went fabulously with my tea , and at night when I couldn’t help but grab more! 🙂

I used Ashley’s veganized recipe, but I used half whole wheat and half unbleached all-purpose flour.  I loved the flavor of this cookie!

And just like Mandelbaum – Mandel Bread won’t be beat!

27 Comments

Filed under Cookies, Desserts

27 responses to “Mandelbaum Mandelbaum!

  1. Hi there! I was told by someone to make mandel bread, but I have honestly never seen it in action. It looks pretty delicious (there goes that “bad” word again). And vegan, too? Can’t go wrong with that!

  2. Thanks for checking out my blog 🙂

    I have never heard of mandel bread but it sure looks good!

  3. Looks delicious! I’ll have to try to make it! 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by my page! I really appreciate it and hope you’ll keep reading! 🙂

  4. FABULOUS! I love love vegan baked goods. AND I love biscotti. I just made a batch of pumpkin pumpkin seed biscotti a little while ago. This looks fantastic. I may have to bake this today 🙂

  5. Oh man, I love biscotti, so if you say this is better, then I DEFINITELY have to try it!

    P.S. Check out my easy biscotti recipes! (:

    • I’m not sure if it’s better – but it is different and absolutely yum! I think biscotti and mandel bread are on equal playing field! 🙂 I definitely will try your biscotti – I already have my eye on your whole-wheat sunflower seed biscotti!

  6. what a fabulous recipe! I will definitely be giving it a try!

    xo

  7. That looks yummy! I love biscotti, so I might just have to give this a try! 🙂
    Thanks for checking out my blog! 🙂 And good luck with C25K! It really does work! I downloaded an app also…It really helps when u want to quit and the lady tells you “only ___ min. left!” 🙂

  8. I’m not a vegan but those things look fabulous!

    PS…one of my favorite Seinfeld episodes ever! Now I want crepes 🙂

  9. This post has me excited to try something new!! Maybe mandel bread?

  10. wow! this looks sooo good!

  11. Kat

    Okay, I did not know about this “flax egg” business, so I’m going to have to do a bit of learning about this, I think…

    Your cookies/bars look amazing! And while I’m not a vegan, I love the idea of a vegan treat here or there 🙂

    • I do too! I mean I am definitely going to try my hand at veganizing with the flax seed egg! Try it out and let me know what you think.

      I personally think it adds a nutty flavor.

  12. seems easy enough. i think i’ll give it a try 🙂

  13. i’ve never heard of this before – i’m intrigued!

  14. I’ve never made anything vegan either! Especially not desserts. I’m thinking about it though. My friend recently made vegan chocolate rice krispies and they were SO good!

  15. THey look absolutely gorgeous

  16. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan

    WOOHOO for recipe veganization! This looks pretty much awesome.

  17. I’ve never made anything vegan before either unless the ingredients were already vegan anyway 😛 Glad your first try was a success!! Vegan baking’s not an easy task (so I’ve heard)

  18. Pingback: My Pumpkin, My Love « OliePants

  19. Good job! I’m not a vegan but for some reason I love vegan baking! I think it’s fun and so yummy!

  20. Whoever discovered flaxseed eggs seriously needs a Nobel. Because you can take most any recipe and make it veganizable nowadays.

    You mandelbaum sounds incredible, and if it truly is better than chocolate chip cookies, I might have to try some out over turkey weekend!

  21. Pingback: Welcome 2011! | OliePants

  22. Pingback: Bake The Buck | OliePants

Leave a comment