My Pumpkin, My Love

Oh pumpkin, my pumpkin.

I, like most other people this time of year, have been obsessed with pumpkin!!  I have been throwing globs of canned pumpkin in my oatmeal and smoothies.  Delicious is an understatement.

So, I took a hint from Deb at Smitten Kitchen and decided for my next healthy pumpkin concoction – pumpkin butter!

And can i tell you?  It’s vegan (look at me go).  It’s delicious.  It’s a keeper!

Here is my rendition of Deb’s recipe:


Start with the good stuff

Stir, stir, stir…

And after more stirring, you, my friend, have the most delicious topping for your morning oatmeal,

SIABS,

and goes wonderfully with vegan mandel bread!

On an exercise note, I have been keeping up with the C25K program and it’s going quite well.  I just did Week 3, Day 1.  I am so freaking proud of myself for keeping up with the program!!

I feel like I should not say anything in an attempt to avoid jinxing myself, but i can’t help but feel proud!!  [I’m currently patting myself on the back on your behalf.  Trust me – if you were here, you would do the same.]

What about you?  What is something you are proud yourself about today?

29 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Desserts, Favorites

29 responses to “My Pumpkin, My Love

  1. I want some pumpkin butter. I need to step up and make my own since I’m obviously not ever going to make it to Trader Joes to buy some. Yours looks DELICIOUS!

  2. mmm I always buy pumpkin butter- I should totally make it. Deliciousness. I am proud of taking some time for myself! I rarely do this 🙂

  3. I am proud of the fact I am taking back-to-back spin classes this evening!

    I will definitely try and make pumpkin butter.

  4. Holy crap, that looks delish. You go girl! On both the butter and running 🙂

    I totally want your handwriting by the way, mine looks like a serial killer or a doctors ha

  5. pumpkin butter… holy yum!!!!! Sounds amazing I definitely need to give this a try!

    xo

  6. eatmovewrite

    I wish I loved pumpkin butter. Alas, I’m a complete alien in the healthy living blog world. I don’t like pumpkin. Booooooo me.

    I am proud that I ate really well, didn’t binge, and washed all the dishes tonight after supper. Go me!

    • My husband doesn’t like it either. To each his/her own!! I wish I could say I was proud of my dish washing after dinner…I’ll save that proud moment for another day! 🙂

  7. I’ve been wanting to make pumpkin butter for months now! Yours looks so good!

  8. Me too with the pumpkin season. What do you put in your pumpkin smoothie?

    • I usually use bananas, kale, 1/4 c pumpkin, then either pumpkin pie spice or cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and cloves with some honey drizzled in at the end.

      I love it. Let me know if you make it!

  9. Pumpkin butter? I’ve never heard of such a thing but it looks so good. I’m not a fan of pumpkin pies but everything else pumpkin is a big love of me. I’ll have to try this for my Sunday’s brunches! On a different note…something I’m proud of myself today…hmmm….I spent three hours baking and decorating cupcakes with a super sweet 6 years old girl. I’m not great at decorating but she had so much fun in coloring the icing and deciding the sprinkles that I felt very happy of trying that with her 🙂

  10. Mmm, pumpkin butter, one of my favorites! Nice job making it! I’ve never tried to make it before, but you make it look so easy.

    Congrats on working through your C25K program – it’s a great program!

  11. I heard about pumpkin butter for the first time at the Foodbuzz festival when the person who gave me the foodie gift exchange presented me with pumpkin butter. It’s delicious. I’m so glad you put this recipe up.

    as for the one thing I feel proud about today…

    I feel proud of myself fro writing against Amazon and their distasteful actions on selling a guide to pedophiles. http://bebeloo.blogspot.com/2010/11/i-dont-believe-in-freedom-of-speech-if.html (in case you want to read it and feel totally disturbed)

    on that note…
    have a good weekend and congrats on your c25k program. sounds…INTENSE.

  12. Jen

    I’ve never had pumpkin butter until I got some at Trader Joe’s, I’m hooked!!! It might be cheaper if I make it myself, instead of stalking Trader Joe’s 😉

    Jen

  13. oh my gosh! that looks amazing!

    I’m proud that I successfully cooked my first Indian meal for friends! 🙂

  14. I love the Couch to 5k program. It’s really helped me. I’m training for a 10k currently but still using C25k to help my body get used to the distance.

    I’m proud that I ran 5 miles yesterday! 🙂

  15. This looks delicious, will have to make some to top my oatmeal with it!

  16. Oh man. I’ve been eating my homemade pretzel experiments with pumpkin butter from Trader Joe’s. It never occurred to me to try making my own. Yummm.

  17. Nice working sticking to the program!

  18. Oh my god thats like the yummiest thing ive seen in a long long time…pumpkin butter just sounds so divine..i should give it a go the next time i get my hands on some puree (too lazy to make them from scratch)

  19. OH YUM!! Pumpkin butter… who would have thought!!??

  20. I’m proud that I finished my last Intro to Design class!
    That pumpkin butter looks awesome. I’m a cheater and just buy mine at Trader Joe’s 🙂

  21. That pumpkin butter looks delicious (and uber easy to make)!
    I never thought about adding canned pumpkin to my oatmeal or morning smoothies–I may have to give that a try.

  22. i have pumpkin butter from Trader Joe’s I haven’t dived into yet.
    I am proud of my half marathon training and it’s finally tomorrow! I hope I finish strong!

  23. dishbytrish

    This looks so delicious and perfect for this time of year. I’ve never made pumpkin butter but I’ve been seeing some recipes sprout up lately. I am bookmarking your. Thanks for sharing!

  24. Pingback: Indulge Me | OliePants

Leave a Reply

