Baingan Good Time

Yesterday, my mom came over and it was a food fest in my apt – lucky me!  My mom is probably the nicest person I have met in my entire life.  With that said, she is probably the quirkiest!

She and I were cooking together in my tiny kitchen and I told her – “move mom, move!”  She responds:  “When I move, you move – just like that”  Uhhhh…..

HOLD UPLuda?!  This 50-ish-yr-old tiny Indian woman, who watches no American TV/Movies has the strangest things come out of her mouth!  I asked her where she learned that from, and she said she’s in the know!!!  When did this happen?!

Oh lawwdddd….have mercy.

So, let’s get cooking.  I must preface this by saying I LOVE LOVE LOVE eggplant.  It is one of my – nay – my favorite vegetable!  An old favorite that I recreated myself was baingan bhartha.  Went deliciously with my mom’s chapathi.

With my mad skillz (in honor of Luda), I turned this:

into this:

And then magically the oven timer goes off and this appeared:

I swear to Moses I only had TWO!  I resisted my little grabby fingers I did.

I’m not one to say my mom and I are best friends.  Man, we have duked it out from 13-26.  Then, 27 hit and somehow she and I had more in common than we knew!

Now if the woman would only teach me where she learned to be such a lyrical gangsta!

Baingan Bharta

Ingredients:

–  1 eggplant

–  2 tsp garlic, finely minced – I use garlic paste

–  2 tsp ginger, finely minced – I use ginger paste

–  1/4 cup onion, finely chopped

–  1 roma tomato chopped

–  1 jalepeno – (adjust to the level of heat you want)

–  1/2 tsp cayenne pepper – (adjust to the level of heat you want)

–  1/2 tsp garam masala

–  1/2 tsp turmeric

–  1/2 tsp ground coriander

–  1/2 tsp ground cumin

–  1/2 tsp black pepper

–  1/2 tsp salt

–  olive oil

 

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 450F

2.  Wash and cut the eggplant in half, lengthwise.

3.  Place eggplant cut-side down on a well oiled cookie sheet.

4.  Bake in oven for 20 minutes.

5.  Once cool, cut the eggplant in bite-size pieces.  (Many baingan bharta recipes say you should scoop out the flesh but I keep the skin because it contains alot of nutrients.  Moreover, I don’t mind it!)  Set aside.

6.  In pan, heat oil.

7.  Saute onions and jalepeno on medium heat until the onions are golden brown.

8.  Add ginger paste, garlic paste, coriander, cumin, cayenne pepper, turmeric, garam masala, salt and pepper.

9.  Saute spices with the onion and jalepeno until the raw smell of the spices are gone – for approximately 5 minutes.

10.  Add tomatoes and saute for another 3 minutes.

11.  Add eggplant and again saute for another 5-7 minutes – until the eggplant is soft and has absorbed some of the spices.

12.  Serve and enjoy!

13 Comments

Filed under Dinner

13 responses to “Baingan Good Time

  1. I love eggplant too! That dish looks amazing… are you gonna post the recipe?

  2. Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving a comment! I have been looking around yours as well and I think it is darling. Have a wonderful weekend and I hope to see you visiting me again soon, I know I’ll be back here! 🙂

  3. This looks great, and so do those cookies!! Yum!! 🙂 Thanks for the recipe!

  4. ha, your mom sounds like so much fun to be with!

  5. The eggplants looks delish and so is the cookies. Hope you will post the recipe for the eggplant.

  6. All I can say is that I hope to God that one day my daughter says that I am the nicest person she’s ever met. It’s unlikely but I’m holding out hope. 🙂

  7. Mia

    I loveee Aubergines and this looks like someting i woudl totally relish!

  8. Glad you and your mom had a great time. And the dish looks and sounds amazing. I love eggplant, but I certainly don’t cook/eat it enough. This recipe is going on “my list.”

  9. kim

    Thanks for dropping by oliepants! 🙂 Eggplants are so tasty when their cooked! And you have cookies fresh out of the oven! my mouth is watering right now.. lol

Leave a Reply

