Welcome 2011!

Happy New Year everyone (albeit late)!  Hope you had  fantastic and safe New Year celebrations!

Binks and I had a low-key celebration this year, which involved us driving to downtown Dallas to see the fireworks with our puppy.

I have been reading a lot of blogs that reflected on their last year to determine if, how, when and where each of them met and exceeded their goals.  As I just started blogging, I thought this would be the perfect time to not look back but to look forward and to be able to reflect in 2012 at the things I will accomplish in 2011.  Here is what I will do (some big and some small):

1.  Drink 8 glasses of water a day:  I used to be religious about this.  Not because I was forcing myself but for some reason, I would just always make it a point to drink 8-10 glasses of water a day.  I have no idea how it worked but it did.  Now, I think with work and work at home, I just find myself replacing water with food.  Instead of recognizing when I’m thirsty, I’ll eat.  This year, I’m going to keep hydrated and make conscious efforts to recognize when I’m hungry and when I’m thirsty.  Do you drink 8 glasses a day?

2.  Finish the C25K:  I was doing really well with the C25K and then India and its preparations happened and I got sidetracked.  I could beat myself up over it but I chose to look forward and try again.

3.  Blog regularly:  I have been increasing the frequency of my blog but I realized that I’m not consistent.  I don’t blog at regular times or days.  I need to have consistency to help myself out and also my readers.  With that said, I also will stop blogging at work and make it a point to either do it before or after.  I’m assuming after as I am definitely not a morning person.  Are you?  When do you blog?

4.  Cut down on meat:  Towards the end of the year, I was really good about not buying any meat or cooking it in the house.  I have to say that just not buying meat has tremendously cut down our grocery bill! Now, I realized that I need to take the next step and make efforts to cut down on meat in general.  I actually find it enjoyable to find delicious and healthy vegetarian or vegan recipes.  However, when we do the parent visits or go out to eat, I usually end up eating meat.  I need to make changes by picking the vegetarian option at a restaurant and just opt out of meat dishes at family gatherings.  I do not have any intentions right now of cutting out meat altogether, but just want to make sure I incorporate more veggies and fruits into my life.

5.  Cut down on sugar:  I would like to blame this on the holidays, but it’s me.  I crave sugar – and I know it’s not going to get better on its own.  I am a dessert/baking person, as you know, and I love sweets.  I crave something sweet after every meal.  I have to stop this thought process and make dessert a “sometimes food”.  Or make healthier options like dark chocolate squares or fruit.  Do you have a sweet tooth?  If so, how do you satisfy your dessert craving?

6.  Exercise 4 times a week:  I was doing really well this (again with the C25K and some exercise videos), but after India and the holidays, I got off the train and need a ticket back on.  Since, I can’t figure out what program I’m going to do, I’m just going to move.  I’m going to run 3 times a week and do something else the 4th day.  Whether it be joining Binks and his yoga or putting on my pilates or my Shred DVD, I’m going to do it.  I just need to move.  Exercise provides quick results!  I notice that I sleep better and have less stress throughout the day when I exercise.  You can’t beat that! 🙂  What exercise program are you doing for 2011?

7.  Make weekly goals:  I read Beth‘s blog regularly and she is awesome at doing this!  I have noticed that setting short-term goals helps you really get ready for the long-term goals.  Do you make weekly goals?  Monthly goals?  How does it help you?

8.  Prepare lunches and snacks:  I have been lazy in my terms.  I have not been focusing on lunches or snacks, and just relying on frozen meals for lunch, which are great in a bind but I want to get into the habit of having lunch prepared the night before so I can grab-and-go with something healthy and nutritious options!  What do you usually do for lunch?  Do you prepare it the night before?

This is my 2011 list, and I am ready and willing to get started!

What’s on your 2011 list?  What are your goals?

Happy New Year!


14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Welcome 2011!

  1. Thanks for the shoutout! Sounds like you have some good goals laid out! I have tried to be really good about drinking water and try to get 6-8 glasses during my workday and then more in the evening. I blog once a day (which is a recent change) and sometimes I write it at night to be published the next morning, which I like.

  2. I try to consistently drink at least 8-10 glasses of water a day. I drink mostly water anyway, and I hit that much most of the time, but lately with the holidays I’ve been slacking a bit. I definitely want to ramp it back up!

  3. These look like excellent goals for the coming year!

  4. Love that last picture!
    I’m a sweets-aholic, too. I’m going to try to cut down this year, but me cutting down is probably everyone else’s normal! 🙂

  5. definitely pack the night before…i never feel like packing a lunch in the morning. i’m starting a weekly friday post on my blog this week with lunch ideas! yummm. good luck with your goals!

  6. I used to have a big sweet tooth! I don’t eat any refined sugar anymore, only agave nectar and xylitol. But a year ago, I was trying to cut back also and I found that the York Peppermint Patties really helped me. I think that it had just enough sweet, but then it left a minty taste in my mouth so I didn’t feel the need to keep eating something sweet. Good luck!

  7. Love this rundown. I have many of the same things on my ‘to do’ list for 2011! I have heard great things about Couch25K, I really want to try it as part of my get in shape routine!

  8. I usually do the same thing that Beth does, write the post the night before (or at least most of it) and then post in the morning. It makes everything easier.

    I’m finding it hard to get in my water too…it’s easier at work though when I can sit the bottle right in front of me as a constant reminder to drink up.

  9. If you cut out the sugar for just 2 weeks I swear you will not crave it again. I used to have the worst sugar habit and now? I have a piece of chocolate here and there and I am totally fine!

    I’m not so good with water…I feel kind of sick when I have 8 glasses!

  10. Pingback: Tweets that mention Welcome 2011! | OliePants -- Topsy.com

  11. Cutting down on meat is one of my top goals. I don’t think I’ve had any since Friday…woot woot! I guess I should post mt goals for the year sometime soon eh?

    I am a nightime blogger 🙂

  12. Good luck on the C25K program. I am doing the Couch 10K program right now.

  13. YES!! Prep lunches is on my list as well! We are soooo doing this one!

  14. I definitely need to make exercise more of a priority. I want to exercise at least 4, maybe 5 days a week.

Leave a Reply

