Chocolate Chip Shortbread Cookies – Virtual Cookie Swap

I have always wanted to participate in a holiday cookie swap.  However, as this year is filled with Isaiah, Rachel’s (aka The Avid Appetite) virtual cookie swap is just perfect!

Holidays would not be complete without cookies – and the more variety, the better.  To me, shortbread cookies are quintessential for the holiday season.  And, when I usually make shortbread, I keep it pretty traditional and plain.  I love the buttery, crisp and light taste of a shortbread cookie.

Not overly sweet so you can enjoy twice as much.  That’s how it works right?

This year, to quell my chocolate cravings, I paired shortbread with chocolate.  Could you imagine the fantabulouslness that would result?

If you can’t imagine, then here is proof:

Trust me when I say that you will want to make them.  And they are a delicious mix of rich chocolate with a light cookie.  These would be perfect with tea, a tall glass of milk, gifts for friends or a cookie exchange.

Or you can leave them out for Santa.

And by that, eat it as a midnight snack.  🙂

Chocolate Chip Shortbread Cookies
makes about 2 dozen

Ingredients:
–  2 cups flour
–  1/4 tsp salt
–  1/2 cup white sugar
–  1 tsp vanilla extract
–  1 cup butter, softened
–   3/4  cup semi-sweet mini chocolate chips

Directions:
–  Cream butter and sugar until light.
–  Mix in vanilla.
–  Add flour and salt.
–   Stir in chocolate chips.
–  On plastic wrap, roll dough into a log shape, 2 inches diameter.
–  Wrap tightly and put in fridge for about 2 hours to firm up.  You can leave for longer, but definitely put in the fridge so the dough easier to handle later.
–  After 2 hours, preheat oven to 350F.
–  Take out the cookie dough and cut into 1/4 inch circles.
–  Place on a cookie sheet about an inch apart.
–  Bake for 10-12 minutes.
–  Cool on wire rack and enjoy!

What’s your favorite holiday cookie?

20 Comments

Filed under baking, Cookies, Desserts, Uncategorized

20 responses to “Chocolate Chip Shortbread Cookies – Virtual Cookie Swap

  1. yum! what a fun change from boring old shortbread!

  2. I really love shortbread and the addition of the chocolate chips is genius! So simple and beautiful 🙂 Thanks so much for participating, I know you are extremely busy these days my friend! Hope all is well 🙂

  3. These cookies are beautiful and I love shortbread!

  4. I only recently fell in love with shortbread… and shortbread and chocolate is definitely a win! Great cookie.

  5. I love shortbread and these sound absolutely perfect. I love that you used mini chocolate chips!

  6. Whoa! Love me some shortbread and some chocolate, so I bet these are just magical!!! 😀

  7. These look so freaking delicious! I love shortbread, but I’ve never baked any myself. It’s about time. I love gingerbread cookies and soft sugar cookies with frosting.

  8. Wow—these look amazing!
    I have to say my fave cookie is either chocolate chip (if done right!) or molasses…..mmmm

  9. I currently have the dough in the fridge! I can’t wait to see how they turn out once I bake them!!! 🙂

  10. When I saw these on the cookie swap I knew I HAD to make them. I think I might even make them today. I do believe I have all these ingredients in my pantry! SCORE! I can’t wait to try them. I really love shortbread!

  11. i have such a soft spot for shortbread cookies, they speak ‘christmas!’ to me 🙂 i love the idea of adding chocolate! way to improve on a classic!

  12. Pingback: WIAW: Finals Edition | The Singing Runner

  13. Pingback: Masala Chai | OliePants

Leave a comment