Masala Chai

Almost every Sunday, the parents come over to visit the baby during the early evening.  While we are still in the beginning stages of this tradition (if it has reached tradition status), I relish tea time with the family. While, tea is a regularly scheduled program for most Indian families, it’s a rarity in mine.  Binks does not like milk tea, and the inconvenience of making two separate teas is obviously enough to preclude me from making tea everyday.

Everyone makes masala chai differently, using varying levels of spices based on your preference.  Cardamom and ginger are a must.  A must.

Serve alongside some biscotticookies, or cake, and savor this most special time of day.

Masala Chai

Yields about 2-3 cups

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup water
  • 4 cardamom pods, cracked and seeds separated (keep it all though)
  • 3 cloves
  • 1/2 tsp fennel seeds
  • 1 1-inch stick of cinnamon
  • 3 peppercorns
  • 1/4 inch piece of ginger
  • 2 cups milk (preferably whole)
  • 2 tbsp black tea

Directions:

  1. Bring water, cardamom pods (all of it), cloves, fennel, cinnamon, peppercorns, and ginger to boil in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat.
  2. Once boiling, add the tea and bring to a boil over medium-high heat.
  3. Once it’s boiling again, add milk, reduce heat to medium and bring to a simmer and finally until it’s boiling again.
  4. Remove from heat, and pour the tea through a seive.
  5. Serve hot.
13 Comments

Filed under Indian, Uncategorized, Vegetarian

13 responses to “Masala Chai

  1. Awn

    I have a friend who loves chai but hasn’t been able to make it at home with any sort of success. I will be passing this on to her!

  2. AM and PM tea are a must for my parents and most Indians that I know. I only like it when I’m sick…much more of a coffee person! I love the different spices you add to yours. I’m going to forward this recipe to my mom. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Mmmmm….this sounds amazing to me!

  4. This sounds awesome, I will have to give this a try sometime. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  5. yum! i adore chai tea. it’s my favorite when the weather gets cold 🙂

  6. love this! Billy lived in London for 2 years, and really enjoys tea time. 🙂 it’s definitely a lovely tradition, and you’ve just inspired me to make a cup of tea on this rainy day in NYC! xo

  7. I love a good cup of chai but have never made it at home. That might have to change now that I’ve seen your simple and tasty looking recipe!

  8. Pingback: Vanilla Bean Cake | OliePants

  9. Pingback: Cinnamon Toast | OliePants

  10. Pingback: Orange and Oat Scones | OliePants

Leave a Reply

