Summer Smoothie

Sometimes, a smoothie can solve all problems.

For instance, when you are sweaty in the morning because you spent the night under your winter sheets, a smoothie really can perk you right up.

Or, when you ate an inordinate amount of pizza for dinner, and you really need to fill your taste buds (and body) with normal whole foods, a smoothie can jump-start your road to good eating the next day.

This is my go-to all-around-great summer smoothie.Β  And, it’s SCD approved!

Summer Smoothie

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup frozen blueberries
  • 2 handfuls of organic spinach
  • 2 tbsp honey, adjust to taste
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut milk

Directions:

  1. Add all ingredients into blender until you are left with a magnificent and refreshing smoothie.

I added natural peanut butter and almonds.Β  Next time, I’ll use more drippy peanut butter, but the flavor was all there.Β  The almonds add the perfect crunch while giving you all the antioxidant goodness.

What’s in your summer smoothie?

16 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Vegetarian

16 responses to “Summer Smoothie

  1. My smoothies always have a frozen banana. I will have to try frozen blueberries next time!

  2. i agree….smoothies can solve problems πŸ™‚

  3. Green Monsters always seem to make me feel better…like a mini-cleanse! I treated myself to one yesterday and feel great!

  4. Sounds yummy! I like spinach and banana together πŸ™‚

  5. You need some of my peanut butter. It is drippy goodness. πŸ™‚

  6. Ok so I am singing Summer Smoothie to the tune of Summer Lovin from Grease. Maybe this is why I’m single??

    My essentials for summer smoothies are any kind of berry and bananas. If I can find mango, then it’s even better!

  7. I’m on a smoothie kick right now!! Frozen banana, milk, cocoa powder, and protein powder is my perfect blend (and sometimes with a little pb!). πŸ™‚

  8. Yesss I love smoothies so much! I start every day with the same one: 1 banana, 1 C unsweetened almond milk, 1 tbsp peanut butter, big handful of spinach, 1 packet of Splenda, vanilla extract and cinnamon. Nothing better πŸ™‚ I will need to branch out for the warmer weather I think!

  9. Amy

    yum that looks good! im still workin on my spinach smoothie skills..sometimes they’re great and sometimes not so much…haha yours looks awesome!

  10. I am about ready for some summer smoothies and this sounds awesome!

  11. “Afternoon delighttt…” this song just applies to the smoothie too well

  12. Oooh that sounds great! For me it’s usually PB, almond milk, spinach, and a frozen banana… yum!

  13. I would love a smoothie but my son doesn’t like the blender noise. It scares him and he starts screaming. Maybe I should find an outlet to plug the blender in in the apartment complex hallway? Would you be freaked out if you opened your door to your apartment and saw someone in the hall making a smoothie? Lol. I kind of want to go make a hallway-dont-scare-the-kid smoothie now.

  14. I’ve never thought about coconut milk in my smoothie (probably thinking about saving the calories for dessert later =) but it sounds so decadent and delicious! I just started buying hemp milk, which is supposedly to be a good source of Omegas – it’s unexpectedly rich and perfect with blueberries and spinach. Hope you are doing well!

  15. my smoothie for the summer is : spinach, ice, mango, and carrots! yummy!!! ..i have to try yours too…blueberries are totally the THING

  16. Pingback: Orange and Oat Scones | OliePants

Leave a Reply

