A Biscotti By Any Other Name…Would Be Cake Rusk

One of my favorite tea-time snacks as a kid was Indian cake rusk.  Do you know what it is?  Have you had it?

Well, it is delicious.

Since then I’ve grown up.

Since then I’ve also realized that cake rusk is really biscotti.  Since then I’ve made biscotti.  Several times.  And called it cake rusk to my Indian family so they too can understand – and awe at my creation.

And what I mean by “my creation” is that I used the recipe from Smitten Kitchen and changed it up a tad.

This is hands-down my favorite biscotti recipe.

The flavor is outstanding.  The subtle citrus combined with almonds makes this cake rusk biscotti perfect for tea time or any time at all.

Biscotti/Cake Rusk
–  adapted from here

Ingredients:

  • 3  1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 T baking powder
  • 1/3 t salt
  • 1  1/2 cup sugar
  • 1  1/4 sticks unsalted butter, melted
  • 3 eggs, room temperature
  • 1 T vanilla extract
  • 1/4 t almond extract
  • 1 T orange juice
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • 1 cup sliced almonds, toasted

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 F.
  2. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.
  3. Mix sugar, melted butter, eggs, vanilla extract, almond extract, and lemon zest in a large bowl.
  4. Mix flour, baking soda, and salt in a bowl and set aside.
  5. By hand, not using an electric mixer, incorporate the flour mixture in three batches into the sugar/butter mixture.
  6. Incorporate until everything is blended and smooth.
  7. Add almonds to cookie dough.
  8. Divide dough in half and shape into two logs onto the parchment-lined baking sheet.
  9. Make each dough into a 13-inch-long and 2-inch-high log.
  10. Bake in preheated oven for 30 minutes.
  11. Remove from oven, but do not turn off oven.  Or, if you have to turn off the oven, note that you must have the oven back at 350 F when you re-bake the cookies.
  12. Cool completely.
  13. Once cool, transport the cookies (holding onto the parchment) to a cutting board.
  14. Cut each log into 1/2 wide slices.
  15. Lay each slice back on the cookie sheet with cut sides facing down.
  16. Bake for 12 minutes.
  17. Turn the cookies over and bake for another 8 minutes.
  18. Remove from oven and cool on a cooling rack.

FYI – Currently listening to: Pleasure Songs by The Mary Onettes

Do you like biscotti?  Have you tried the Smitten Kitchen recipe?  Do you drink it with tea? 

19 Comments

Filed under baking, Cookies, Desserts, Italian, Vegetarian

19 responses to “A Biscotti By Any Other Name…Would Be Cake Rusk

  1. i love biscotti!! I haven’t made it in a while because its just not the same gluten free. But maybe I’ll attempt again!

  2. I love biscotti, and like Lindsay, I have attempted to make it once since going gluten free… not a win. 😉 I’ve never heard of cake rusk, but I like that name.

  3. I love biscotti!
    (And I am familiar with baby rusks/zwieback).
    I always eat biscotti with tea or coffee… delicious either way!

    I need to make some, but want to go the whole wheat or spelt flour route… has anyone tried that?

    ~

  4. I love biscotti…there is something special about how crunchy they are. Yum!

  5. I LOVE biscotti! I want to make them for my dad, he loves them too 🙂

  6. I like biscotti. However, I prefer more “chew” to such things, so I don’t have it overly often…

  7. eva626

    cake rusk!…brown pple love this stuff with tea…i would know, i live with six of them (my family) lol. i dont like it though…but i will try out your reciepe…the store bought ones are blah…

  8. Yum! The citrus & almond flavors really sound amazing. I’ve never tried making biscotti, but I enjoyed some in Italy last fall – delicious.

  9. This looks fabulous, I may need to try it soon 🙂

    I like to dunk my biscotti into coffee. I am addicted to Starbucks biscotti, it is bomb!

  10. Mmm! These look yummy and comforting. I prefer mine with a Latte, but I’d gladly have it with tea…or alone. Good job! I might have to try these!

  11. I gotta be honest, I’m not a huge fan of biscotti. I prefer doughy, chewy cookies!!

  12. I’ve only had biscotti once or twice…truthfully I’d rather just have a cookie!

  13. Awhile ago, in response to some scone “cookies” I made, you mentioned you had never baked a scone. And now, my turn to say of all the baking we do in our home, we’ve never made homemade biscotti! Your lovely pictures are my inspiration. Might have to turn up the heat and dip them in some melted chocolate =) Thanks for the post!

  14. Oh man I love biscotti 🙂 I’ve never made it though, I feel like it’d be pretty simple!

  15. Biscotti is typically not my go-to, but I could absolutely see loving it dipped in a gorgeous cup of hot tea for a nice, light dessert 🙂 These look fantastic friend!

  16. Oh, I love biscotti! I’ve never made biscotti before, but it has been on my to-make list for a long time. Yours look fantastic! I think seeing them was the push I needed to finally make my own…

  17. Pingback: When Life Hands You A Lemon | OliePants

  18. Pingback: Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies | OliePants

  19. Pingback: Lemon Poppy Seed Biscotti | OliePants

Leave a Reply

