Thai Tanee

I love Asian food.  Obviously I’m a huge fan of Indian.  My next favorite would be Korean.  Then, Japanese.  Of my top 10 Asian food favs, I think Thai food would be the last or near the last on that list.

I rarely crave it, but when I do, it’s almost an unstoppable force.  Yesterday was one of those days.

Binks and I Yelp-ed and found Thai Tanee.

Tai Tanee is located in a strip center, and if I weren’t looking for it, I would likely drive by and never notice.  But, I’m very glad I stopped.

Upon entering the restaurant, you immediately (well, I immediately) notice how clean everything is.  We were immediately seated by the sweetest of wait staff.

Binks and I usually share when we go out to eat, so we came up with a game plan.

Appetizers: Tanee Egg Rolls with chicken.  *not pictured, forgive me.

Main Course: Chicken Larb Salad and an order of steamed rice.

When the waitress came to take our order, I made sure to say, Thai hot – very very hot.  As always, I got the typical reaction – “Yes, Yes.”  And, I had to stop her.  No, I mean really – Thai hot – very very hot, I told her again.  She walked off and I hoped to goodness she would know.

She arrived with this:

Don’t let the plethora of red pepper flakes fool you.  It wasn’t Thai hot.  If you have ever cooked with the Thai peppers, you know what Thai hot is.

But, it was full of Thai flavor.  While it was a tad on the sweeter side, Binks and I really enjoyed the meal.

The picture doesn’t do it justice.  The portions were huge.  Mind you, Binks and I shared.

I of course had to have my side dish mixture of garlic chili paste, Sriracha sauce, and low-sodium soy sauce.

Per usual, my side dish mixture turned into pretty much a main course on my plate.

After the waitress saw my hot sauce concoction she said: “Oh, you like really hot.”  I smiled and nodded while sweating out of every orifice in my body.

I’m 80% sure I gave myself 40 new ulcers.  I left very satisfied.

Do you love Thai food?  Have you tried larb salad?  Do you like spicy?  Thai hot?  Do you dare? 🙂

20 Comments

Filed under Dinner, Uncategorized

20 responses to “Thai Tanee

  1. Haha you’re exactly like my fiance!! When “as hot as you can possibly make it” didn’t work, he resorted to saying, “please make me cry!!” Still doesn’t always work.

    I crave Thai food all the time and now I’m REALLY craving it! Wish I didn’t already have dinner planned for tonight 🙂

    • I’m going to try that quote next time because I really want her to get it. I want it hot! 🙂

      Although I’m fairly sure if I show up next time, she’ll know.

  2. I love love spicey food but have never tried thai but I think I would really like it.

  3. yummmmm i love thai food…only once and a while though! sounds good now 🙂

  4. LARB SALAD!! Thats our favorite. I love the spice! I dont’ like the name. Larb?? Really? haha.

  5. I looove Thai! But not too spicy for me 🙂 I do like a good red curry, but only if it doesn’t turn my mouth to flames! Have a great weekend friend!!

  6. Larb is the first dish Ryan ever made me. 🙂 We love it!! I’m ok with heat but probably not your level of heat!! Haha

    • I don’t think most people would be okay with that level of heat. But I am really nothing compared to my MIL. Her and her habaneros. It’s insane.

      I tried to make larb salad once but I accidentally got too heavy on the fish sauce. The taste was there but it was too salty for me to enjoy. 😦 Can Ryan cook for me and Binks sometime? 😉

  7. My mom’s cousin’s wife (yes, I said that and I think it makes her my third cousin once removed or some such nonsense) is from Thailand and makes the best food for our german reunions. If I can find one of her recipes I’ll pass it along!

  8. I LOVE Thai Food! I’ve never had this salad though. Thanks for the recommendation! My favorite Asian food would have to be Filipino, but I’m bias because I AM filipino. Have you tried any dishes of ours? Otherwise, I’m a big fan of Japanese and Korean!

    • I’m so glad you commented because I had a lot of Filipino friends growing up in high school but I never really got to try any of the food. Well – minus the lumpia which is delicious but I wanted to try the real deal – especially the lechon!!

  9. Love love LOVE thai food. The spicier the better. My stomach is made of steel…

  10. I’m not a huge Thai food fan, but I haven’t really had enough to say I don’t like it!

  11. I super love Thai food, but we hardly ever eat it. We went a few nights ago though… I had Pad Thai and spiced the sh!t out of it with that red pepper sauce… love it! 😉

Leave a Reply

