Pumpkin Scones with Spiced Glaze

I haven’t had a single bowl of pumpkin oatmeal yet.  How very non-seasonal of me.

It seems like I was subconsciously saving it for these.

Those my friends are pumpkin scones.  Yes, sir.  As beautiful as they are delicious.

I’ve never been a scone fan.  Most recipes leave  you with a bready, lackluster snack, which leaves me unsatisfied.  Not this one.

Not only are these scones delicious, they are moist, flavorful and perfectly sweet to disappear sooner than I wanted to some grubby family fingers.

You can tell from the dough that this scone will come out light and almost flaky.

Oh and did I mention that they come with a spiced glaze?  (The dough itself has very little sugar so the glazes are pretty necessary in my opinion.)

But you get to decide if you just need a drizzle or a full dunk.

Obviously I prefer a dunk and a drizzle.

I’m greedy like that.

Pumpkin Scones with Spiced Glaze
adapted from Brown Eyed Baker

Ingredients:

Scones:
–   2 cups all-purpose flour
–  7 tbsp sugar
–  1 tbsp baking powder
–  1/2 tsp  salt
–  1/2 tsp cinnamon
–  1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
–  1/4 tsp ground cloves
–  1/4 tsp ground ginger
–  6 tbsp cold butter, cut into tablespoon pieces
–  1/2 cup pumpkin
–  3 tbsp milk (I used unsweetened almond milk and it came out just fine)
–  1 tsp vanilla extract
–  1 large egg

Initial Glaze:
–  1 cup plus 1 tbsp powdered sugar
–  1/4 tsp vanilla extract
–  2 tbsp milk  (again, I used unsweetened almond milk)

Spiced Glaze:
–  1 cup plus 3 tbsp powdered sugar
–  2 tbsp milk (unsweetened almond milk for me)
–  1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
–  1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
–  1 pinch ground ginger
–  1 pinch ground cloves

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425F.  Line baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2.  Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and ginger in a bowl.  Use a fork to cut the butter into the flour mix until you get a coarse crumbly mix and you can’t really tell that there are chunks of butter in the mixture.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the pumpkin, milk, vanilla and egg.  Fold the wet ingredients into the flour mixture.  Make sure you don’t over mix.  Form the dough into a ball (the dough will be very soft).
  4. Put out the dough onto a floured surface and form into a 1 inch rectangle that’s 3 times long as it is wide.
  5. Then, with a knife, cut the dough twice width wise, making three equal pieces.
  6. Then, cut each of the three pieces into an X making 12 pieces total.
  7. Place each piece onto the baking sheet and bake for 14-16 minutes until lightly golden brown.
  8. After baking, place on a wire rack to cool.
  9. To make the initial glaze, mix together the powdered sugar, vanilla and milk.  After the scones have cooled, use a pastry brush to brush the initial glaze onto the scones.
  10. To make the spiced glaze, mix together the powdered sugar, milk, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and cloves.  Usually by this time, the initial glaze should have hardened on the scones.  Drizzle (or dunk – or both) onto each scone.  Leave for about an hour for the glaze to dry.

Serving sizes are relative.

Are you a fan of scones?  How have you used your pumpkin lately?

11 Comments

Filed under baking, Bread, Vegetarian

11 responses to “Pumpkin Scones with Spiced Glaze

  1. yum! i randomly made some pumpkin bread today and still have some pumpkin leftover!!!

  2. I am such a huge fan of scones…any flavor. I haven’t had a pumpkin version though! These look divine!

  3. I generally prefer muffins to scones, but homemade scones are the best. Especially pumpkin- my favorite!

  4. Egg nog scones were pretty delicious. I’m a muffin girl mostly though.

    Congratulations on your baby- I hope you will share your birth story! I’m due in 15 days!

  5. That glaze is KILLING ME with how delicious it looks. I think I want to drizzle it on everything. And I also haven’t had any pumpkin oatmeal this entire season, just pumpkin protein pudding. This needs to be rectified immediately! 🙂

  6. i am such a fan of scones bu they never have GF versions so i just cry. haha. Plain ones with butter and jam….my fantasy.
    p.s.
    did i miss it? did you have the baby?

  7. Pingback: Parmesan French Toast with Caramelized Onions | OliePants

  8. Pingback: Buttermilk Cornbread | OliePants

  9. Pingback: NOVEMBER Feather's Chat! - Page 4 - 3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community Featherweights

Leave a comment