Buttermilk Cornbread

Now that fall is officially upon us, the comfort food season for me has begun. I love that now the heartier dishes are coming out. The best part is the breads. Whether garlic bread to accompany your favorite pasta dish or scones for the perfect brunch omelette, bread is really a necessary addition for fall. And nothing speaks fall and comfort in the South quite like cornbread.

;

I’m responsible for these every Thanksgiving and there are never any leftovers. Perfectly crumbly without being dry or overly sweet, this cornbread recipe is a favorite. I prefer sweeter cornbread, than ones with jalapenos in it, which seems to be a favorite for many. To me, it’s like putting nuts in brownies: no, no and no. While these go wonderfully with a big bowl of soup or chili, I was content just eating by itself for a perfect late-afternoon snack. Butter optional – but preferred.

Buttermilk Cornbread
barely adapted from Allrecipes.com

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter, unsalted
  • 2/3 cup white granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375F. Grease 8 inch square pan.
  2. Melt butter in microwave in large bowl. To melted butter, stir in sugar.
  3. In a small bowl, mix together baking soda and buttermilk. Set aside.
  4. To melted butter, quickly beat in eggs until fully incorporated. Then, add and mix in buttermilk mixture until smooth.
  5. Blend in cornmeal, flour, and salt until fully blended and no lumps remain.
  6. Pour into greased pan.
  7. Bake for 30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean.
  8. Advertisements

7 Comments

Filed under baking, Bread

7 responses to “Buttermilk Cornbread

  1. OMG, yum. Cornbread is in my top 5 foods – soooo delicious!!

  2. Cornbread is definitely up there on my list of things to make this fall1 Maybe with a giant vat of chili…OM NOM etc. 🙂

  3. I like sweeter cornbread too 😉 Yours looks perfect!

  4. I’m also a fan of sweeter cornbread! I wish I had a big chunk of cornbread right now…

  5. I LOVE a good cornbread… especially a sweet one 🙂

    Sues

  6. Those are some mighty beautiful and tall stacks..love it!!

  7. Yum! Just added this to my Thanksgiving list of recipes and pinned it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

