Oven Roasted Potatoes and Green Beans

While I believe we incorporate a good amount of veggies in our household diet, spring time really is a great time to add more to your repertoire. My in-laws have a substantial garden growing by this time and they are quite eager to share. I consider it my family CSA. Recently, they brought over some green beans and red potatoes for me.

I wanted to make a dish to highlight the best of the two ingredients while maintaining the flavor of the food. I kept it simple. A combination of favors with the ease of this dish cannot be beat. I have used this side dish to compliment many main courses, including blackened salmon, which we served on Mother’s Day this year.

While the original recipe did not call for onions, the addition of the same gives the dish a dimension of flavor that I appreciate. If you are not an onion fan, feel free to omit.

What fruits or vegetables do you look forward to during the spring?

Oven Roasted Potatoes and Green Beans
Adapted from The Vanilla Bean Blog who adapted it from Ina Garten and The Joy of Cooking

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound potatoes, diced large (I prefer the smaller potatoes, i.e. fingerling, small red, small gold.)
  • 1/2 large onion, sliced
  • 1 pound string green beans, ends removed
  • 1/8 cup good olive oil
  • 1 tsp salt, plus more to taste
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425F.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the potatoes and onions.
  3. Toss the potatoes and onions with olive oil to coat.
  4. Sprinkle salt and pepper.
  5. Transfer the coated potatoes and onions to a baking sheet.
  6. Bake in the preheated oven for 25-30 minutes, until the potatoes are tender.  Toss once while cooking, at the half-way mark.
  7. After the potatoes are tender, toss in the string beans to the pan.
  8. Bake for another 10-15 minutes, until the beans are tender.
  9. Remove from the oven and add more salt and/or pepper if you want.

21 Comments

Filed under Side Dish, Vegan, Vegetarian

21 responses to “Oven Roasted Potatoes and Green Beans

  1. I love simple side dishes like this. I bet I can easily eat a bowl of this for dinner – maybe topped with an egg! 🙂

  2. Sounds delicious—and everything is better straight from the garden!

  3. So simple & perfect! I love it. That egg on top idea sounds perfect too. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Your Favorites of 2012 | OliePants

  5. Lee Richards

    Potatoes and onions together at beginning, then beans, mushrooms, peppers. Add chili powder to potatoes instead of parm cheese…so good.

  6. Pingback: What’s Cooking: | The PHD Single Mom

  7. This is a great way to cook red potatoes and green beans! My family loved them. Sliced the onion a little thin and some got too brown but no one minded. Thank you for sharing a great recipe.

  8. Pingback: Sunday’s Dinner

  9. Teresa

    This recipe is sensational! I added some baby carrots since I had to use them up. Fabulous! Thanks so much!

    • I’m so glad! I think using baby carrots is a great way to use up existing carrots.

      We love this recipe too. It’s my go-to side dish when I’m not sure what to make but don’t want to bother.

  10. Yvette

    Do you coat the green beans in oil too before adding them to oven? Or just leave them dry?

  11. Pingback: CSA Newsletter Week 10A | Green Gate Farms

  12. Melissa G

    Made this tonight…along with 4 other items. The nice crust on the potatoes from baking them and simply seasoning them with salt and pepper made them delicious!

  13. Pingback: Recipe: 25 Best Green Bean Dishes To Serve At Meals | Food - Olip Life

  14. Chris

    Is this recipe intended for the ninja flip? Also, the recipe uses olive oil (which is my go to oil) the instructions on the flip say not to use olive oil is ok to use?

  15. I used small radishes with the potatoes and onions because I only had a few little yellow potatoes. It was a wonderful and very colorful side dish. Thanks!

Leave a comment