Happy Valentine’s Day {Sugar Cookies}

Happy Valentine’s Day everyone!

I must say that I have never been a fan of Valentine’s Day.  Whether I was single, dating or married, the purpose of the day was lost on me.  All purposes save one.  The delicious factor.  You know what I mean.  Chocolates.  Desserts.  And of course, cookies.

With sugar cookies on the brain lately, I finally sat down and decorated sugar cookies for friends.  My experience has been that most cut-out decorated sugar cookies have lacked great flavor.  Well, not these.  These cookies are perfect.  Full of flavor and tender crumb.  The cookies are not overly sweet, which works well when paired with the royal icing, which let’s admit may not be the most delicious thing to put on top of a cookie.

And, as a novice at the decorated sugar cookie, I fully expected my cookies to be imperfect and composed of minor, superficial blemishes.  However, with a superior base product, I would gladly eat and share these cookies with my family and friends.

Sugar Cookies
–  from Annie’s Eats

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup powdered sugar, sifted
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 and 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 and 1/2 cup sifted flour

Directions:

  1.  Preheat oven to 375F.
  2. Cream butter until fluffy and add powdered sugar until fully incorporated and light.
  3. Add egg, almond extract, vanilla extract, salt and flour to the butter mixture until well blended (in that order).
  4. Chill the dough in the refrigerator for at least two hours, until the dough has firmed up.
  5. Once chilled, on a lightly floured surface, roll out the cookie dough to a 1/4 inch thickness.  If your dough keeps sticking, I suggest alternating between flour and powdered sugar to powder to the surface.  This way you won’t run the risk of adding too much flour to the mixture.
  6. After rolling, cut out your desired shapes with cookie cutters.  Transfer the cookies to a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.
  7. Bake for 8-10 minutes until only barely browned on the bottom.  You do not want to brown these cookies.
  8. Allow the cookies to cool on a cooling rack completely before decorating.  If you don’t intend on decorating right away, store in an airtight container until it is time to decorate.

14 Comments

Filed under baking, Cookies, Favorites, Uncategorized

14 responses to “Happy Valentine’s Day {Sugar Cookies}

  1. I wanted to make sugar cookies so bad for Valentines Day this year, but I’ve been so busy so I took the lazy way out and made m&m cookies instead. They’re a lot less labor intensive. 🙂
    Happy Valentines Day!

  2. Awn

    They look great! I’ve been decorating cookies for over a year now and my piping skills are nowhere as good as yours are!

  3. I am not a big fan of Valentine’s Day either. Mostly because I have no interest in Hallmark holidays! Also because I’m lazy.

    The cookies look gorgeous! So impressive.

  4. These look great! I’m with you—I love the treats, but I think valentine’s day is kinda ridiculous and I’ve never thought about!

  5. Happy Valentine’s Day! I’m not the biggest sugar cookie fan but show me anything pink or heart-shaped and I give in. These are so cute!

  6. Annie

    These are really beautiful! Great job.

  7. these are beautiful! great job on the decorating 🙂 I am terrible at decorating baked goods. I don’t love Valentine’s, but I do love anything red and pink!

  8. Pingback: Recipes for Valentine’s Day | OliePants

  9. fofo

    I think you decorated with red sugarpaste and royal icing..

  10. Pingback: Best 20 Valentines Day Sugar Cookies - Best Round Up Recipe Collections

  11. Pingback: The Best Ideas for Valentine Sugar Cookies - Home, Family, Style and Art Ideas

Leave a comment