Recipes for Valentine’s Day

I really don’t like Valentine’s Day.  In fact, I hate it.  And, no – nothing happened.  Nothing traumatic or heartbreaking happened for me to feel this way.  I can think of several other occasions to celebrate love besides a holiday concocted for it.  But, I’ll tell you what.  The best Valentine’s I remember is the first one I spent with Binks.  Specifically, he brought me a box of chocolates, which we ate standing over the sink.  I would take a bite and then give him the rest.  We did this methodically with the entire box.  Best. V. Day. Ever.

So, aside from the creepy flying baby in his underwear, the tolerable thing about Valentine’s is the food.  The glorious decadent food.  In honor of, I’ve put together a list of foods that I think would be great for any Valentine’s.  Happy VD my sweet friends.

1.  Raspberry Coulis

IMG_2756

Drizzle this on – anything.  Pancakes.  Cheesecake.  Straight into your mouth.  Wonderful.

2.  Red Velvet Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

IMG_9847

A little on the nose, but who can resist a beautiful red velvet cake?   And, I promise you that this cake is irresistible.

3.  Garlic Bread

IMG_2684

This may not be on the nose and mostly on the breath but this garlic bread is completely worth it.

4.  Sugar Cookies with Royal Icing

IMG_8218

I love making and decorating sugar cookies for Valentine’s.  It’s a creative and personal way to show someone you care.

5.  Cream Puffs

IMG_0215

Looking more difficult than it actually is to make, cream puffs are a delicious way to impress a Valentine.

6.  Chicago Deep Dish Pizza

IMG_0348

Pizza is a love in our house and this Chicago style deep dish is a decadent main course for a casual meal with anyone you love.

7.  Funfetti Cookies

IMG_9815

A classic sugar cookie gets an instant glam makeover by adding your favorite sprinkles.

8.  Donut Muffins

IMG_0197

I dare you resist donuts at any time.  Waking up to these in the morning will truly show a loved one how much you care.

9.  Pesto Macaroni and Goat Cheese with Roasted Red Peppers

IMG_0378

All my favorite flavors and ingredients combine to make a dish that makes me swoon.

10.  Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies

IMG_8492

These are a favorite cookie in my house and everyone that tries them falls in love.

4 Comments

Filed under Desserts, Favorites, Holiday

4 responses to “Recipes for Valentine’s Day

  1. Mmm, pesto mac and cheese… Why have I never thought of that? Brilliant!

  2. We don’t do v-day either–who wants to wrestle their way into one of many packed restaurants to have a high-pressure date surrounded by stressed-out people who want Everything to be Perfect? Ok, maybe that’s just me experience but…yeah, no. 🙂 Pizza sounds like just about my speed for this holiday!

  3. A very happy belated Valentine’s Day to you…the cookies are really beautiful!

  4. That raspberry coulis looks awesome. And I could always go for a doughnut muffin!

Leave a Reply

