My Favorite {Pregnancy} Things

Baby Binks is now approximately 32 weeks and now seemed like the best time to share with you my favorite pregnancy things up to date.  These aren’t baby-related – but just pregnancy-related (aka – all about me)!

1.  Old Navy

Here’s my math.  Pregnancy lasts 9 months.  And, for at least the first three months, you can fit into everything you had before.  So, I just have to shop for 6 months.  I refuse to spend a lot of money or redo my wardrobe for such a short period of time.  Call me crazy – or call me cheap – I can admit to both.  Enter Old Navy.

a.  Leggings

[Source]

I have lived in these leggings for longer than I want to remember.  I wear it under almost every dress and T-shirt I own.  I cannot attest to a more comfortable pair of leggings.  Mostly b/c I don’t own any others.  Thank God for maternity leggings.

b.  Jeans

Jeans are always tough.  I usually buy Gap jeans but the price and the fit of these maternity jeans sold me.  I got flare-legged jeans the day that I started noticing my thighs were widening.  I’m not a fashionista, but I think it helps.

 

[Source]

After experiencing maternity jeans, I’m not sure how I can ever go back to a button again.  You feel me?

2.  Gap

a.  The Dress

After finding out that my cousin’s rehearsal dinner required American dressy-casual clothes, I had to go look for a dress.  Luckily I found this:

[Source]

I really am pleased with it.  It’s plain.  It’s black.  It fits and hugs in all the right places.  I’m happy.

b.  The Cardigan

I can’t find the exact one but it’s similar to this, except it’s black (of course).

[Source]

3.  Burt’s Bees Body Butter

I found this on sale and randomly picked it up as a belly butter rub, and I am extremely glad I did.

[Source]

I use it every other day on my stomach and some dry areas (elbows, feet, etc.) and it’s perfect.  It’s not greasy and absorbs fairly quickly.  Either that or my skin is so dry it sucks up any moisture it can get.  I hope it’s not that.  It has a great smell and the one tub should last me until the very end!

4.  Babycenter

Yep, there’s an app for it.  And, I have it.  And, it’s free.

[Source]

I usually rely on my apps to get me through the day.  Facebook, Twitter, Words with Friends, Yelp, INRIX, TV Guide, Pandora, and now…Babycenter’s pregnancy app.  I use it often to find out what the update is on the BittyBinks.  It gives you a check list of things you should be doing at certain times so that you don’t run behind (e.g. Kegels, signing up for birthing classes, finding a pediatrician, etc.).

5.  Flats

I was never a flats wearer before, but when the heels were getting too much, I went and bit the bullet.

[Source]

Are they most attractive pair of shoes I own?  No.  But, I love them.  I wear them everywhere.  I can’t imagine a better pair to accompany me through the pregnancy.  Side note:  Do you know it’s not safe/good for your feet to be completely flat?  So, I made sure to get some ‘flats’ that had a slight heel to help keep my feet in good condition.

6.  An extra pillow…or two.

I didn’t buy a special maternity pillow.  I refused to.  No other reason than I’d rather spend the money on something else.  Instead, I just added an extra pillow to my sleeping schedule.  I keep it between my legs.  (TWSS!)  Sometimes when I feel the need to be especially cozy, I put an extra (extra) pillow behind my back.  It keeps me in place.  Think of Ethel and Fred preparing for bed in that cheap motel.  No one said I was trying to win the sexy pregnancy award.

7.  Other Bloggers

You cannot imagine how thrilled I am to have at least 5 pregnant bloggers – all around my same due date.  It’s like having a pregnancy club where you are reassured that what you are going through is normal.  And by club, I mean one where I’m in it and no one else knows they are in my club.  🙂

My favorites:  Rhodeygirl Tests, The Daily Garnish, Legally Fit, and The Fitnessista.

At a time where none of my friends and/or family are pregnant or have been pregnant (in the past 2 years), reading about their experiences really has helped tremendously.

8.  My Binks

I will avoid being mushy.  I have been very fortunate – nay – blessed to have a super supportive partner/teammate who puts up with the good, the bad and the hormonal.  I couldn’t have come this far so well without him.  🙂

So, whether it be your partner, friend, family, etc., the support of a loved one goes a long way.

So what’s your favorite thing right now?  Pregnancy or not.

12 Comments

Filed under Favorites, Life, Pregnancy, Uncategorized

12 responses to “My Favorite {Pregnancy} Things

  1. My favorite baby things are : 1. The Moby wrap 2. Ba-out for it’s ability to get cloth diapers clean and banana out of the carpet

    My favorite thing right now is a yellow scarf.

    Hmmm I think that’s it.

  2. I’m sure you look gorg!!! We need to see some pregnancy pics! 🙂
    I’m lovin the high socks I got from Target to go with my tall boots. Not sure if I’m too old to rock this look, but I’m doing it anyways.

  3. My favorite thing at this exact moment? The coffee I’m drinking. =)
    My favorite thing besides the coffee? My Nike+ that keeps track of how far I’m running…it helps keep me honest about what I’ve actually done in place of what I think I’ve done.

    A friend just had a baby and is using the Moby and they both love it – baby and mom!

  4. I bet being a pregnant blogger is like having a running community! you go throw the ups and downs together, you support each other, but the acutal race is a lot more rewarding.. XXOO

  5. I guess my favorite thing right now is this jar of Nutella that I’m digging into with a plastic spoon :p

    Those flats are actually pretty cute!

  6. Great update! Fun stuff—I guess it’s one of those things you don’t know what you’re going to love until you find each thing!
    I have been loving my new workout planning…it’s way easier on my body and more effective too!

  7. Yay! I love Old Navy Maternity. I bought a knit tunic (look into it, it’s on sale now!) and I agree on the leggings. I may never go back to real pants ever again. We are due within a month of each other, I believe. I’m almost 30 weeks now and am due Dec. 29th (ish)

    Check me out at http://hetookmylastname.blogspot.com 🙂

  8. Love this list! Especially the last one. 🙂 I’m so glad you have an amazing partner through all the ups and downs the past several months. Thinking about you!

Leave a Reply

