Butterscotch Pudding

IMG_2881

My mother doesn’t waste food.  Like nothing.  It could be that she cooks everyday or that she doesn’t eat out unless we take her.  Whatever it is, other than my sister and my habit of stockpiling snacks, she doesn’t have more than what she needs – in food.  Her household hoarding habits are a different story to be addressed later.  

I confided in her one day that I hate wasting vegetables that I never get around to cooking.  She looked at me as if I had just revealed to her that I was working for the devil.  In an attempt to gain understanding, I asked her if she ever deals with that problem.  She just shook her head no.  Now, with just my grasping for a way out of this conversation, I told her the following:  “You know, when I come back from work, I just don’t feel like cooking so we pick up something.”  Like kryptonite to Superman.  Disappointment would be an understatement.

In short, my mom uses everything she buys.  And, I – well, I’m trying my best.

So, when I made this cake, I had four egg yolks left over (from here) that I needed to use.  Otherwise, the guilt would eat me alive.  And, I would much rather eat pudding.

IMG_2875

Oh and by the way.  No skin.  I know this is a heated debate, but no skin.  The fact that the word to describe that layer is called ‘skin’ is just enough to say no skin.  So, if you are like me and no skin – cover like above – place the plastic wrap on top of the pudding itself.  If you are a skin person, cover the top of the dish without touching the dish.

Butterscotch Pudding

Adapted from Taste of Home

Yields 6-8 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup dark brown sugar
  • 5 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 4 cups whole milk
  • 4 egg yolks, lightly beaten
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 3 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. In a small saucepan, combine the brown sugar, cornstarch and salt.  Add milk and egg yolks and stir until smooth.  Cook and stir over medium heat until mixture comes to a boil.  Cook and stir 1-2 minutes longer or until thickened.
  2. Remove from the heat; stir in butter and vanilla.  Cool to room temperature, stirring several times.  Pour into individual dessert dishes.  Cover and refrigerate until fully chilled, at least 2 hours.
6 Comments

Filed under Custard/Pudding, Desserts

6 responses to “Butterscotch Pudding

  1. Yech skin. Definitely a no skin girl! This pudding looks awesome! My mom loves butterscotch and I know she especially would love this!

  2. Mmmm butterscotch pudding. I am trying to be better at using up everything too!

  3. It’s definitely a challenge not to waste any food at all. At least we have a beautiful compost pile, though! Pudding sounds super comforting for winter, although I personally love the skin. I know–heresy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

