Guacamole

IMG_2842

True to toddler form, my child’s eating habits are variable at best.  Foods that he loves one day becomes old news the next.  One constant in his life (and mine) has been guacamole.  I attribute it to the fact that I probably consumed guacamole more than I care to admit while I was pregnant and nursing.  Chipotle should have just been on my speed dial.  This has to be one of my favorite dishes – ever.  Similar to other dips, I can and have (on numerous occasions) made a meal of chips, guacamole and salsa.  What can I say?  I’m a Texan through and through.

I’m quite particular about what constitutes great guacamole.  Unlike most places that use tomatoes in their guacamole, I am harshly opposed to that ingredient anywhere near this dish.  Tomatoes add too my liquid and a distracting element to the dish.  Also, I’ve tried almost every onion type (shallots, green onions, white, etc.) and nothing seems more compatible with avocados quite like red onion.  Also, I prefer the taste of serrano as opposed to jalapeno in guacamole but serrano is spicier.  So, pick your pepper accordingly.

IMG_2839

Most telling is that my husband, who really hates most things avocado, ate this happily.  Happily.  Not out of any obligation to consume this nutrient-rich food with wonderful healthy fats.  Happily.  And, nowadays when there is a dish that all three people in the family love – mission accomplished.

Guacamole

yields 4 servings

Ingredients:

  • 2 large (or three small) ripe avocados
  • 1/4 cup red onion, minced
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 jalapeno or 1/2 serrano pepper, minced (seeded if you want less spicy)
  • juice from 1 lime (about 3 tbsp)

Directions:

  1. Cut the avocado in half and scoop the flesh into a large mixing bowl.  Using a fork, mash or stir around until you reach a consistency slightly thicker than what you ultimately want.  (I prefer a whipped texture that only has a few chunks of avocado in it.)
  2. Stir in onion, cilantro, salt, pepper and lime juice.  Start with one half the lime and then add in more as  you want.  Stir until fully incorporated.
  3. Taste for salt and lime and add as necessary.

 

10 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, Favorites

10 responses to “Guacamole

  1. I love that first picture – so pretty!

  2. I love guacamole! it’s how we rate mexican restaurants over here – one place we went to it was the consistency of single cream! awful! I can’t wait to try this recipe!

  3. I love guacamole! thanks for the reminder to make some STAT! your recipe sounds perfect!

  4. I also always go for red onion in my guacamole! Of course, I’m frequently lazy enough to just mash my avocado with some salsa out of the fridge and lime juice and leave it at that. 🙂 Looks delicious!

  5. “Harshly opposed.” I love it…so funny.

    Guacamole is delicious! And yes, Chipotle does it best.

  6. Guac just may be my favorite food… sometimes I just eat it with a spoon!

  7. you had me at GUAC! I’ve missed YOU!

  8. Pingback: Tres Leches | OliePants

Leave a Reply

