Blackened Fish Spice Blend

img_5912

…or any fish for that matter.

You’ve seen this picture before here.  This is my favorite fish dish.  Hands down.  No doubt.  We have fish at least once a week in some way shape or form.  And, when I don’t have a meal planned, and I don’t have time to put together something elaborate, I rely on this dish.

IMG_2146

Keeping a jar of these spices handy ensures that I never have to miss out on a full-flavored meal.  Typically, if I were to marinate a thinner fish, like tilapia, I marinade the fish dry an hour before, while I’m doing something else, and cook it on the stove with some olive oil over medium heat for about 5 minutes each side.

If I were to use it on a thicker fish like salmon, I mix the spices with olive oil to make a paste and rub it over the fish.  After, marinading, I bake (covered in foil) in a preheated 375F oven for 30 minutes, or until flaky.

IMG_2149

Blackened Fish Spices

adapted from Food Network
yields about 4 servings

Ingredients:

  • 3 tbsp paprika
  • 1 tbsp kosher salt
  • 1 tbsp onion powder
  • 2 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp ground thyme
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp celery seed

Directions:

  1. In a jar with a lid, mix together all the spices.
  2. When ready to use, either use it dry by pressing and rubbing spices into the fish.  If using wet, mix a tbsp of spices with approximately 2 tsp of olive oil and make a thick paste.  Spread and rub into fish.  Marinade for an hour and cook to your preference.
2 Comments

Filed under Fish, Main Dish, olive oil

2 responses to “Blackened Fish Spice Blend

  1. Hooray for fish! This spice mix sounds great–I’m definitely going to have to give it a try soon. 🙂

  2. I love blackened fish and it’s hard to find it at restaurants done right. Looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

