Pecan Pie with Butter Crust

I have dreams about this pie.  Wicked dreams.  If I had to fight someone for this pie, I would.  And, if we’re talking last piece – it’s on like Donkey Kong.  No joke.  This is a serious pie.  Ever since I made this for Thanksgiving, I have been looking for reasons to make it again everyday since then.  

Oh this pie is the mac daddy of all pies and really just should have a holiday on its own.  Albeit usually seen during Thanksgiving, this pecan pie, my friends, needs a special place at your dining table.  I have held off making this pie in fear that I could not even compete with the store-bought version to which my entire family has grown accustom.  And, using a recipe that lacked corn syrup really made me nervous that people wouldn’t have the nostalgia of the ‘typical’ pecan pie.  Luckily I’m dead wrong and I will be making all pies for all future pie holidays.

Also, it’s not a looker per se, but it’s all substance.  Don’t judge this pie by my evidently rushed pie crust formation.

Oh, and the crust.  It’s the only time that flakey can be a marvelous thing.  It has taken me a while to develop this pie crust and I can say that I’m so happy with it that I declare (yes, declare) that I’ve done it.  Perfectly flakey and light without being too weak to hold oodles of golden brown sugar and toasted pecans.

Pecan Pie

yields 8 servings

Filling adapted from Allrecipes.com

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup dark brown sugar, packed
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp half and half
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup chopped pecans and 1/4 cup whole pecans for decorations
  • 1 9-inch unbaked pie crust, recipe below

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400F.
  2. In a large bowl, beat eggs until foamy, and stir in melted butter.  Add in the brown sugar, white sugar and flour, and mix well.
  3. Finally, add the half and half, vanilla and nuts.
  4. Pour the filling into the unbaked pie shell.  Top with pecans for decoration, if using.
  5. Bake in preheated oven for 10 minutes.
  6. Then, reduce temperature of oven to 300F and bake for 35-40 minutes.

Pie Crust

yields one 9-inch crust

Ingredients:

  • 1 and 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp white sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter, cold and cut into cubes – keep it chilled
  • 4 tbsp ice water

Directions:

  1. Sift together the flour, salt and sugar together in a large bowl.  Using a fork or pastry blender, cut in the cold butter until the mixture resembles coarse meal with pea sized pieces of butter.  Pour the water over the mixture and using a fork until the mixture comes together into a ball.
  2. Wrap in plastic wrap, and place in refrigerator for at least 1 hour.  You can make this dough up to 2 days in advance.
  3. Roll out the dough, and place in a pie plate.  Fill and bake.
Leave a comment

Filed under Desserts, Holiday, Pie

Leave a Reply

