Roasted Garlic

I’ve told you some basics before (broccoli and rice), but this is a basic that everyone should know.  Absolutely everyone.  I have tried every which way (especially with pre-peeled garlic) to get this right,and most methods have failed – save this.  You can just throw it in the oven while you are baking something else (savory, not sweet).

Versatile is an understatement when it comes to roasted garlic.  I recently used this in a compound butter that I made and can’t wait to share.  I’ve also used it in the past for mashed potatoes – my favorite way to eat mashed potatoes.  And talk about a base for garlic bread.  Or a baked potato.  Geez Louise.

Roasted Garlic

adapted from Simply Recipes

yields one head of roasted garlic

Ingredients:

  • 1 garlic bulb
  • 2 tbsp olive oil

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400F.
  2. Peel away all outer layers of the garlic bulb.
  3. Place garlic bulb on a piece of foil paper large enough to cover the garlic bulb.
  4. Once you place the bulb on the foil, drizzle with olive oil over each exposed clove until fully covered.  Cover up with the foil.
  5. Bake for 35 minutes, until the cloves are soft.
  6. Let the garlic fully cool before handling.  Using your fingers, pinch out each clove from the skin.
4 Comments

Filed under Basics, garlic

4 responses to “Roasted Garlic

  1. I do this too! Delicious and sooo much easier than peeling garlic (ugh!).

  2. Yummm I love roasted garlic! I sometimes even just spread it plain on crackers 🙂

  3. So…I can practically smell the roasted garlic. And now I’m drooling.

  4. Yes–the foil method is definitely best! I haven’t roasted garlic in way too long. Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

