Lemon Poppy Seed Biscotti

When I was a child, I thought as a child.  Cookies were always chocolate chip and always dipped into ice cold milk.  As an adult, I still think like a child.  But, I have managed to expand my cookie repertoire to include the ever adult biscotti.  A cookie for those who don’t need the comfort of the soft, chewy and chocolaty.  A cookie for those who can understand the comfort of sturdy and stable without being overly sweet.

While I usually reserve biscotti to the colder months, I felt compelled to create a summery version of a favorite treat.  I’m glad I did.  Lemon really adds a spark and the addition of poppy seeds do not go unnoticed.  I thought the crunch of the biscotti would make the poppy seeds invalid.  Not the case.  I love this twist on a flavor combination that’s usually reserved for muffins.

Lemon Poppy Seed Biscotti

adapted from here via Smitten Kitchen

Ingredients:

  • 3  1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 T baking powder
  • 1/3 t salt
  • 1  1/2 cup sugar
  • 1  1/4 sticks unsalted butter, melted
  • 3 eggs, room temperature
  • 1 T vanilla extract
  • 2 T lemon juice (usually it’s the juice of one small lemon)
  • zest of 1 small lemon
  • 1/4 cup poppy seeds

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 F.
  2. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.
  3. Mix sugar, melted butter, eggs, vanilla extract, lemon juice, and lemon zest in a large bowl.
  4. Mix flour, baking powder, and salt in a bowl and set aside.
  5. By hand, not using an electric mixer, incorporate the flour mixture in three batches into the sugar/butter mixture.
  6. Incorporate until everything is blended and smooth.
  7. Add poppy seeds to cookie dough and mix to incorporate.
  8. Divide dough in half and shape into two logs onto the parchment-lined baking sheet.
  9. Make each dough into a 13-inch-long and 2-inch-high log.
  10. Bake in preheated oven for 30 minutes.
  11. Remove from oven, but do not turn off oven.  Or, if you have to turn off the oven, note that you must have the oven back at 350 F when you re-bake the cookies.
  12. Cool completely.
  13. Once cool, transport the cookies (holding onto the parchment) to a cutting board.
  14. Cut each log into 1/2 wide slices.
  15. Lay each slice back on the cookie sheet with cut sides facing down.
  16. Bake for 12 minutes.
  17. Turn the cookies over and bake for another 8 minutes.
  18. Remove from oven and cool on a cooling rack.

 

13 Comments

Filed under Cookies, Desserts

13 responses to “Lemon Poppy Seed Biscotti

  1. I only became a fan of biscotti a few years ago. I prefer the ones with chocolate (surprise!) but this lemon poppy seed version also sounds divine!

  2. I have no idea why I’ve never made biscotti before! This looks and sounds awesome. I love the summery lemon touch 🙂

  3. Lemon poppyseed is the best! How have I never had it in biscotti form? This sounds like it would be perfect with coffee!

  4. oh my gosh! this looks perfect! and I love the flavor – very impressive!

  5. gorgeous photos of an amazing coffee time treat! I love the flavours you chose!

  6. Lori

    Is it baking powder or baking soda?? Ingredients say powder directions say soda.

  7. I don’t know why I’ve never made biscotti… I need to change that!!

    Sues

Leave a Reply

