Cinnamon Toast

As my family spent the weekend telling stories and sharing memories a year later, nostalgia was on the menu.  As children, my mother made cinnamon toast often on weekends.  A cross between toast and a cookie, my sister and I looked forward to these mornings served with a cold glass of milk.  My dad on the other hand, sat at the edge of the table, paying bills and having tea with his toast.  He would listen to my sister and I entertain each other with ridiculous stories, and we would watch him meticulously write his checks and gather materials for our first outing of the weekend – the bank.  Happening almost like clock work, the only variable was the breakfast and lately, I’ve had cinnamon toast on my mind.

While my mom used regular white bread, which is commonly used, I switched out for a loaf of wheat french bread that I had on hand.  Again, I really am giving you a how-to as opposed to a real recipe, but this is one of my all-time favorite foods.  Simple and easy to make, it’s perfect for anyone and everyone.  I mean, who wouldn’t enjoy a piece of bread laden with cinnamon and sugar?

Cinnamon Toast

Ingredients:

  • 8 slices of bread (if using French bread, cut into 1/2 inch slices)
  • 1 stick of unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup white granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
  • pinch of nutmeg

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350F.
  • In a small bowl, mix together the sugar, cinnamon, salt and nutmeg.
  • Spread butter on each slice of bread.
  • Sprinkle liberally with cinnamon sugar mix.
  • Place on cookie sheet and bake for 10 minutes until it’s golden brown.
6 Comments

Filed under Bread, Breakfast

6 responses to “Cinnamon Toast

  1. This looks wonderful—mmmm, I love french toast!

  2. Awn

    We made my mom and dad breakfast in bed once a year – on Mother’s and Father’s Days. The very first time we made my mom cinnamon toast….but forgot the butter. She says to this day it was the driest toast she ever ate.

  3. Cinnamon sugar toast is associated with some very happy memories for me 🙂 🙂 Yours looks extra amazing!

  4. So glad that you have these memories to help you through…looks like a delicious breakfast! The stick of butter alone made it for me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

