Roasted Broccoli

Broccoli is one of my favorite vegetables that I don’t eat nearly as often as I should or would like.  I prefer it plain with a dash of salt.  As I’m more comfortable using my oven than attempting to steam something into mush, roasting is my favorite way to cook this beautiful vegetable. In addition to being easy, the flavor is just outstanding.  Hit with a bit of kosher salt and olive oil, this has become a go-to side dish to pair with many types of cuisines.

I know this is not a complicated recipe or really even a recipe for that matter as much as it a how-to on a basic dish.  But, sometimes we just have to be reminded that the simplest things are usually what makes it into the weekly menu rotation.  Easily modified and adapted to whatever main course you are preparing, this is a great base recipe.

Roasted Broccoli
adapted from Ina Garten

Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch of broccoli, cut into florets (I also keep the stems)
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp kosher salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425F.
  2. Toss the broccoli with the olive oil.
  3. Lay out an even layer on a cookie sheet.
  4. Sprinkle with kosher salt.
  5. Bake for 20 minutes, until the florets are tender and some may have browned edges.
5 Comments

Filed under Side Dish

5 responses to “Roasted Broccoli

  1. I’ve made that Ina Garten recipe before and it’s really good. This is a great reminder that you don’t even need all the extra stuff – olive oil and salt is enough! Yum…roasted broccoli…

  2. I love roasted brocc….I always joke that if you roast it just right with olive and salt (and for long enough)…it tastes like potato chips 🙂

  3. I don’t eat as much broccoli as I mean to, either–it’s one of those vegetables that often ends up neglected & yellowing in the crisper. Roasting it is a great idea! I also like to make broccoli soup, especially in the dead of winter, and eat it with all the sambal oelek and yogurt.

  4. I love roasted broccoli! much better than steamed, in my opinion. I’m looking forward to cooler temps to start roasting lots of vegetables and eating heartier meals!

  5. Pingback: Roasted Garlic | OliePants

Leave a Reply

