Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Growing up, desserts were not readily available in my house.  Rather, my mom’s versions of dessert consisted of digestive cookies, cake rusk, or the Goya Maria cookies.  For fear of her children getting diabetes or other health problems, warm chocolate-y sugar-y baked goods never came out of the oven.  In fact, our oven was where my mom store her pots/pans.  No joke.  Even today, the only other purpose my mom’s oven serves is to keep food warm when she has company.

I, on the other hand, am the extreme opposite.  Once a week, I bake something sweet.  And, I see my mom at least once a week.  Whenever she sees the sweets, she always has a comment.  You know – the mom comments.  But, after about 15 minutes, she relents and has a piece.  She usually fits in another comment as she finishes off her piece and thinks about reaching for another.  And this is our routine.

So, here and there, I offer sweets with healthy alternatives.  This time, I changed up the flour.  Usually, I reserve my whole wheat flour for breads and chapatis, I wanted to lend the nutty flavor to a cookie – none better than one studded with chocolate chunks.

I fully expected to hate this cookie.  Whether it would be too bready from the flour or not sweet enough, I anticipated a shed load of problems that would render this an experiment never again to be repeated.    The exact opposite.  This cookie will be made for years to come.  I can pretty much guarantee that this will be a staple in our household.  The whole wheat shines in all the right ways.  Beautifully nutty and dark, the flour is sturdy enough to hold up against the dark chocolate without compromising the cookie texture.  After eating this cookie, I fear that going back to the all-purpose chocolate chip cookies might leave me wanting something a bit more complex, like this.  As the cookie is not overly sweet, I know my mom will be less hesitant to take one.

Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

adapted from  Good to the Grain via Orangette
yields about 24 cookies, using a heaping tablespoon scoop

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 and 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 and 1/2 kosher salt
  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, cold and cut into small pieces
  • 1 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 8 oz bittersweet chocolate, roughly chopped

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.  Line cookies with parchment paper.
  2. Whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a bowl.  Set aside.
  3. Cream together the butter, brown sugar and white granulated sugar.
  4. Once creamed, add the eggs and vanilla extract.
  5. Add the flour mixture in two parts, mixing well between each addition on low-speed.  Scrape down the bowl as you go to ensure even combination.
  6. Mix in the chocolate by hand.
  7. Using a cookie scoop, place cookie dough scoops on cookie sheet.  Bake for 15 minutes rotating the sheets half-way through.  Remove from the oven and move the cookies on the parchment paper to a rack to cool.

 

 

11 Comments

Filed under Cookies, Desserts

11 responses to “Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. This makes me laugh a little because my house was the exact opposite. I don’t think my mom had one concern at all about us being unhealthy/diabetes/etc because we almost always had cookies on hand. That we’d eat multiples of at a time. Maybe a reason why I lack portion control now…

    However, these look amazing…

  2. These look amazing!! I love that they use entirely whole wheat flour,too!

  3. Whole wheat flour is absolutely the best in chewy cookies–so moist and damp in all the right ways. I love these!

  4. This is outright THE best cookie. Good to The Grain is one of my top cookbooks and oh goodness, these cookies are a total favorite of mine and my husbands. Same as you we can’t go back to normal cookies – but hey, we never need to!

  5. The mom comments drive me crazy. So it’s interesting that history is repeating itself as I pile the same comments onto my own child!

  6. What a great idea! With whole wheat flour, that means I could eat an extra cookie or 10 🙂

    Sues

  7. These cookies look absolutely perfect! the cracking on top is just gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

