Layered Mediterranean Dip

I adore Mediterranean food.  I love it just short of formally announcing that I may love it more than Indian food.  Offering fresh, light and bold flavors, the Mediterranean flavor profile is up my culinary alley.  We make Mediterranean food quite often at home, including falafel and hummus.  Homemade pita chips and hummus often serve as a snack-turned-into-dinner after a late work day.  This time, I wanted to jazz up our usual with added texture and flavor.  I had bookmarked this recipe since the first day I saw it.  With this recipe, it’s either go bold or go home.

Preparing this dish could not have been easier.  However, from start to finish, this recipe took me two hours.  Thirty minutes tops to arrange and clean up the actual dish.  However, as I was going to grab the olive oil for the final drizzle, my slippery fingers dropped my beautiful brand new bottle of the good stuff.  Bottle and oil all over my kitchen floor.  I spent an hour mopping up everything and another thirty minutes combing the floor for scraps of glass.  Bright side: I now have a clean kitchen floor.  After wrapping up the cleaning, sitting down to eat was well worth it.  Flavor upon fresh flavor, this dip had the perfect combination of crunch, creamy, tang and bite.  The toppings can be varied to your preference and tastes.

Layered Mediterranean Dip

adapted from Tasty Kitchen via Perry’s Plate

Ingredients:

  • Cilantro Pesto
  • Hummus
  • Red onions, finely diced
  • Cucumbers, peeled and finely diced
  • Tomatoes, finely diced
  • Banana peppers, diced
  • Kalamata olives, diced
  • Feta cheese, crumbled
  • Olive oil, for drizzling

Directions:

On your serving platter, spread a layer of hummus.  To the hummus, spread the cilantro pesto.  Add red onions, cucumbers tomato peppers, banana peppers, kalamata olives, and feta cheese evenly.  Drizzle lightly with olive oil.  Serve with pita chips.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Layered Mediterranean Dip

  1. More than Indian food? Oh, those are some fighting words! 😉 This dip looks amazing–I’d probably end up eating an entire plate of it and calling it dinner.

  2. what a gorgeous dip full of deliciousness! a crowd-pleaser, I’m sure of it.

  3. Pingback: Baba Ghanoush (Eggplant Dip) | OliePants

Leave a Reply

