Deviled Eggs

I only eat deviled eggs two times a year.  Fourth of July and Thanksgiving.  My mother in law prepares it for Thanksgiving lunch and I prepare it for July 4th.  Usually prepared for a potluck, picnic, or barbecue, deviled eggs are a great appetizer for the summer.  And, in the south, deviled eggs are somewhat of a staple at get-togethers.

Deviled eggs recipes are not hard to find.  It really all comes down to preference.  Some people prefer creamy and no additions, whereas others, like me, prefer a crunch.  I also prefer a bit of tang and kick.  When do I not prefer a kick?

While I prefer a crunch, I like all the crunchy items, pickles and scallions, minced down so that it doesn’t overwhelm the creaminess.  Usually I find myself just using the same ingredients in different amounts until I get the taste that I want.  I consider this somewhat of my basic recipe, but can be easily varied to your specifications.  However, I have to say that having tried it with and without, and finishing it off with smoky paprika is a must.

Now, the problem really comes down to serving size.  While on a given day, one egg is my limit, with deviled eggs, I usually find myself eating more than my fair share.

Deviled Eggs

Ingredients:

  • 6 large eggs, hard-boiled and peeled
  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 2 tbsp pickles, minced
  • 1 tbsp shallots, minced
  • 1 tbsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 tsp salt, or more to taste
  • 1 tsp black ground pepper
  • 1 tsp Tabasco sauce (or other hot sauce of your preference)
  • Paprika, for sprinkling

Directions:

  1. Cut each egg in half lengthwise.  Remove the yolks and place in a medium-sized bowl.
  2. Mash the yolks with a fork.
  3. Add mayo, pickles, shallots, mustard, salt, pepper and Tabasco to the yolks.  Add more salt and/or pepper based on your preference.
  4. Fill egg white ‘shell’s with the yolk filling.
  5. Sprinkle with paprika.
  6. Place in the refrigerator until ready to serve.
6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Deviled Eggs

  1. These sound yummy! I’m not picky about deviled eggs—and actually I’ve never made them. But I like them “plain” or with a tang and a kick….and/or with some crunch!

  2. Deviled eggs are truly the greatest. The other day I was talking to a pregnant friend who was sad about not being able to eat runny egg yolks…but when I mentioned that she Could eat deviled eggs, she perked up IMMEDIATELY. Rich egg yolk mixtures for the win!

  3. You know what? I’ve never had a deviled egg. Crazy but true. Something about the mayo that I just can’t handle? But these look amazing! Maybe I should give them a try…

  4. I have not had deviled eggs in a loong time. But I remember eating them at summer barbeques and outdoor dinners. So very picnicky! Some people may call deviled eggs old-fashioned and 80’s, but I think they are a classic appetizer. These look great!!

Leave a Reply

