Overnight Oats

I’m not a fan of summer.  I really do hate the heat.  I’m not really living in the best city for this.  So, when it comes to food, I do not like to incorporate more heat into my life whenever I can help it.  For instance, I’ll switch from hot coffee to iced coffee.  Soups to salads.  Hot oatmeal to overnight oats.  I’m not one to brag about oatmeal, and Binks definitely won’t brag or say anything nice about oatmeal, but overnight oats is a favorite of mine and tolerated by Binks.  That’s as high a compliment oatmeal can get from my husband.

Considering that this dish is both nutritious and easy to assemble, overnight oats is hands-down a go-to breakfast in this house.  It’s easy to grab in the morning, while taking care of a busy baby.  While I have made overnight oats without yogurt and just milk, I highly recommend using yogurt as it brings the oats to a higher level of richness and flavor.  I like my oatmeal just a little thicker than drinkable yogurt, but not so set like a custard.  Add and layer with your favorite toppings.  Bananas are a must for me for sweetness.  What are your favorite toppings?

Overnight Oats

– adapted from Katheats
– Yields about 3 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup milk (any type of milk you want)
  • 1 cup vanilla yogurt (I prefer Greek yogurt)*
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp sweetener (honey, sugar, brown sugar, Stevia, etc.)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Mix all ingredients in a bowl.  Cover, and place in the refrigerator overnight.  Serve cold the next morning.  Top with your desired garnishes.
*If you use unsweetened yogurt, feel free to add more sweetener with a tsp of vanilla extract.
6 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Health, Vegetarian

6 responses to “Overnight Oats

  1. I actually love summer and the heat…but I definitely like to find ways to cool off too! I haven’t made overnight oats before, but dang they look good!

  2. I am going to try this for tomorrow morning! i am not a big fan of oats and this would be a great way to incorporate oats into my diet.

  3. Pingback: Orange and Oat Scones | OliePants

  4. Pingback: 17 Overnight Oats Recipes

Leave a Reply

