Rosemary Bread

I’m a bread fan.  Are you?  You know, the fresh-baked, crusty outside that requires a serrated knife to crack into the soft and pillowy insides.  The type that’s perfectly soft but holds up to a hefty spread of pure unadulterated butter.

When I was selected to create a menu for the Foodbuzz 24×24, I knew I wanted to incorporate rosemary from the herb garden.  To complement my garden inspired menu, I wanted to create a rustic loaf using rosemary with some other herbs.  Making breads like these always leave me wondering I don’t bake basics like bread more often.  Have you baked bread before?  That’s a problem I’m more than happy to correct.

And, did I mention it goes perfectly with butter?

Side note – this bread tastes a lot like the bread you get at Macaroni Grill.  

Rosemary Bread
adapted from Food Network

Ingredients:

  • 2 and 1/2 tsp active dry yeast
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 2 and 1/2 cup bread flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp olive oil, plus more for brushing and serving
  • 2 tbsp fresh rosemary, minced
  • 1/2 tsp thyme, minced
  • 1/2 tsp basil, minced
  • 1/4 freshly ground black pepper

Directions:

  1. Proof the yeast in a large bowl.  Proofing:   Add the yeast and sugar in a large bowl.  Stir in water and mix.  Let it sit for 10 minutes.
  2. Add the flour, salt, and olive oil.  Mix until it comes together.  You can use a mixer with a dough hook, but I just used my hands.  Get it to come together, then turn out onto a floured surface and knead for at least 10 minutes.  You want the dough to be smooth and elastic.
  3. Once smooth, place the dough into an oiled bowl, cover, place in your oven with the light on and let it sit for an hour.
  4. Remove from the oven, punch down and knead again.  Let it rise again in the oiled bowl.  This time you don’t have to put back in the oven.  I take this time to preheat the oven to 375.  Once the dough has sat for another hour, bake for 30 minutes.
  5. After 30 minutes, brush with olive oil and sprinkle with sea salt.  Bake for another 10 minutes.
  6. Serve warm.
4 Comments

Filed under baking, Bread

4 responses to “Rosemary Bread

  1. Loved your creation , so lovely! =)

  2. Ooooh I do LOVE bread! This looks beautiful and flavorful!

  3. Do you suppose I could add black olives? I love the idea of olives and basil and rosemary!!! You think I can do this?

Leave a Reply

