Pimento Cheese

If you would have asked me 10 years ago if I liked pimento cheese, I would have said no. A strong harsh no. What I’ve seen in stores as a mayo-heavy cheese mixture with little flavor, never appealed to me in any sense. Never say never. A year ago, for lunch, at a mediation of all places, the mediator served a variety of sandwiches, including the pimento. I tried it. And, I loved it. Unlike the usual pimento cheese spreads, this had a distinct cheddar and pepper taste and was low on the mayo. After an hour, I realized I had eaten all the pimento cheese sandwiches on the platter. Luckily, my client was too nervous to eat or notice.

I have finally recreated a version that I am quote proud of and is delicious. I do not prefer creamier pimento cheese spreads. I like to have a substantial shred of cheddar cheese. My recipe is a twist on the classic. Adding shallots and pickled jalapeno for a crunch and kick. While you can certainly eat it the day of, I recommend letting it sit for at least two hours for the flavors to blend. I let it sit overnight and Binks agreed that the flavors settled better.

Pimento Cheese

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound sharp cheddar cheese, grated (best if you grate it yourself)
  • 1 (4 oz) jar of pimento cheese, diced
  • 1 small shallot, finely minced (optional)
  • 1 tbsp pickled jalapeno, diced (optional)
  • 1 tsp Dijon mustard (optional)
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper (optional)
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise

Directions:

  1. Mix all ingredients together. Refrigerate for at least two hours before serving.
1 Comment

Filed under Appetizers, Side Dish, Vegetarian

One response to “Pimento Cheese

  1. I love pimiento cheese! In fact I have a jar in my fridge!

Leave a Reply

