Funfetti Cookies

As a kid, 24 was my “I’m old” age.  When, I got to be 20, the age became 30.  As I approach 30, I find this exercise unnecessary and meaningless.  Age is a number and despite the fact that my back aches almost every morning until I walk it out, I’ll be as old as I feel.  One morning, I walked it out on my way to the kitchen.  And, I baked these cookies.

Because when you went to sleep the night before wondering how that wrinkle got there and assuming it is because you have not slept a solid 8 hours in more than a year, you need a little pick-me-up.  Pick-you-up?  My feeble mind doesn’t mind either.

Whatever it may be that ails you, I encourage you to make these cookies.  In addition to the use of the mood-lifter sprinkles,  I adapted the recipe, adding lemon zest to give the cookie a bright flavor.

While these cookies may not have solved my back ache, they did give me the sugar rush I needed to forget about it.  Until my next sleep-deprived morning.

What ails you?  And do you have an “I’m old” age?

Funfetti Cookies

adapted from Tasty Kitchen via Two Peas And Their Pod originally from Fat Girl Trapped in a Skinny Body

yields approximately 20 cookies

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter, room temperature
  • 1 and 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • grated lemon zest from one lemon
  • 1 egg
  • 2 and 3/4 cups cake flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup sprinkles
  • 3 tbsp nonpareil sprinkles

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375F.
  2. Cream together the butter and sugar in a mixer for about 2 minutes until light/fluffy and pale.
  3. Add the vanilla extract, lemon zest and egg and mix well until completely incorporated.
  4. In a separate bowl, sift together the cake flour, baking soda and salt.
  5. Slowly add the flour mixture to the butter/sugar mixture.  Mix on low-speed until all combined.
  6. Finally, mix in the sprinkles.  Do not over mix at all because you do not want the color to bleed into the dough.
  7. Scoop cookie dough onto a parchment lined cookie pan and bake for 10-12 minutes.  You want the cookies to remain quite pale in the center and only lightly browned on the edges.  Don’t let it get too browned or golden because then you will just end up having a crispy cookie.
  8. Cool on a wire cookie rack and store in an airtight container.
4 Comments

Filed under Cookies, Desserts

4 responses to “Funfetti Cookies

  1. I’m 36 going on 152. My knees make me feel that way anyway…

  2. I gotta make these. All things funfetti just make me smile!

  3. Funfetti is seriously the bomb.com. Always will be!
    I love this clever spin on it – totally making these for my boys. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Recipes for Valentine’s Day | OliePants

Leave a Reply

