Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

I love a one-pot main meal. Even if it is a side dish. A healthy side dish at that. Earthy quinoa mixed with hearty chickpeas and tomatoes with a crisp refreshing lime dressing is really comfort food for the summer. I have made this dish often and have failed to obtain a picture of it as it disappears from my kitchen quickly.

I initially bought quinoa to eat for breakfast, in place of oatmeal. However, I find myself finding savory uses for quinoa instead. Well, what I mean is that I made this recipe and I make it at least once a week. It’s simple, delicious and healthy.

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad
Adapted from Gourmet and cooking the quinoa from Edible Perspective

Yields approximately 4 servings

Ingredients:

  • zest from 1 lemon
  • juice from the 1 zested lemon
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 1 cup quinoa, rinsed
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 (15 oz) can of garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 medium sized tomatoes, diced
  • 1 medium sized red onion, finely diced
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, finely chopped
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, whisk together the lemon zest, lemon juice, butter, olive oil, and salt.
  2. Cook the quinoa. In a pot, over medium heat, add the cup of quinoa and roast for approximately 2 minutes. Add two cups water, increase to medium-high heat, and bring to a boil. Stir once and reduce the heat to obtain a simmer and cover the pot with a lid. Cook for 15 minutes (don’t dare open the lid). Once 15 minutes is up, turn off the heat and remove the pot from the heat. Leave covered for 5 minutes. After five minutes, uncover and fluff with a fork.
  3. Add the cooked quinoa to the dressing and stir to coat evenly. Let it sit for 5 minutes so the dressing will have a chance to absorb.
  4. Mix in remaining ingredients and adjust salt as you see fit. Go easy on the pepper.
7 Comments

Filed under Favorites, Side Dish, Uncategorized

7 responses to “Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

  1. This looks fabulous! It has all my favorite flavors in it….I’m such a sucker for anything mediterranean!

  2. Oh I love this idea! I have quinoa but I need to make it more and stop convincing myself that rinsing it adds too much time that I don’t have. this is great inspiration, I will have to try this!

  3. Yeah, I love one-dish grain meals like this too! I don’t even bother to rinse my quinoa anymore, and I haven’t noticed any difference. It’s all good.

  4. Pingback: Perfect Brown Rice | OliePants

  5. Pingback: Baba Ghanoush (Eggplant Dip) | OliePants

Leave a Reply

