Pumpkin Pancakes

Binks, the baby, and I are sick.  Binks started the chain of events in the household, followed by me and now the baby.  So, what I decided on a sore-throated morning was I absolutely without a doubt wanted pumpkin pancakes.  Binks silenced any thoughts about telling me to not make said pancakes after a quick flashback into the past.  So, in my weary state, I was determined to make pancakes.  And, if they flopped, Binks was warned to take cover.

Pumpkin, in the food blog world, is seasonal.  Copious amounts of pumpkin recipes come up around October and die off after the new year.  I say, “why?”  I say let’s enjoy this fruit all year.  I say this with love and knowledge of three cans of pumpkin sitting in my pantry that I would like to use up.  I dare you to tell me that pumpkin pancakes were not a fabulous idea.  I dare you … and you have been warned to take cover.

Pumpkin Pancakes

–  adapted from Martha Stewart Living
–  makes about 10 pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 1 and 1/4 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • pinch of cloves
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup milk (I used almond milk)
  • 6 tbsp canned pumpkin
  • 2 tbsp melted butter, cooled

Directions:

  1. Whisk together the dry ingredients (flour, sugar, powder, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and cloves).
  2. In a separate bowl, beat the egg.
  3. To the egg, add and mix the vanilla, milk, pumpkin, and melted butter.
  4. Using a wooden spoon (you don’t want to over mix), just fold the wet ingredients into the dry to make sure everything is incorporated and smooth.
  5. Heat a non-stick pan over medium heat.
  6. Once the pan is hot, melt butter in the pan.
  7. Once the butter is melted (don’t let it burn), add 1/4 cup of batter for each pancake.
  8. Cook each pancake for 3 minutes on either side.

How do you deal with a cold?  Do you engage in any illogical behavior?

5 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Vegetarian

5 responses to “Pumpkin Pancakes

  1. Awn

    Pumpkin in any form is welcomed at my table year round. I often ask for a pumpkin pie “birthday cake” and my birthday is in March. Feel better soon!

  2. these look delicious! pancakes will always hold a place in my heart (and stomach) of a comfort food from my childhood. I always engage in illogical behavior when I’m not feeling well. poor Billy!

  3. Yum! These sound and look amazing!

    I tend to try lots of home remedies when I have a cold…who knows if it works, but it makes me feel like I’m doing something!

  4. Pumpkin pancakes are my FAVE!! I love pancakes in general, but the pumpkin variety are the bomb.com.

  5. I don’t even know if I like pancakes….but those look AMAZING! Banana pancakes? YES, please.

Leave a Reply

