Spinach Pesto Omelette

If you’ve been reading, I’ve hit you up with quite a bit of sugar lately.  If you don’t believe me, look here, here, and here.  I swear I eat more than dessert.  In fact, my favorite thing to eat lately have been eggs.  Eggs are an absolute staple in my diet.  It’s easily accessible and cooks quickly.  In fact, an omelet is my go-to breakfast when I want something different from the usual yogurt bowl with granola or cereal.

And these days, when I eat breakfast around 10:30 a.m., this omelet offers acts as the perfect brunch option.  I prefer this delicious meal with a buttered piece of sourdough toast.  As I eat my first meal of the day later than what constitutes breakfast, the spices and full-flavor of this omelet makes a satisfying brunch.

The funny thing about this omelet is that while eggs lend itself wonderfully to versatility (adding whatever ingredients you want depending on what you have in store), I made these eggs exactly the same way for more days than I would like to admit.

Spinach Pesto Omelet Recipe
Yield: 2 servings 

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 (10 oz) package of frozen spinach, drained and squeezed dry
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp onion powder
  • salt and pepper to taste (you may not need so much salt as the Parmesan is pretty salty)
  • 2 tbsp basil pesto (homemade or store-bought)
  • 1 tbsp Parmesan cheese, grated
  • 1/4 cup mozzarella cheese, grated

Directions:

  1. In a bowl, whisk together eggs, spinach, garlic powder, onion powder, pesto, salt and pepper.  In a separate bowl, mix the cheeses together.
  2. Heat non-stick pan over medium-high heat.
  3. Once pan is hot, heat olive oil and butter over medium-high heat.
  4. Once pan is hot, pour egg mixture into pan.
  5. Cook for 3 minutes over medium-high heat.
  6. Reduce the heat to medium-low
  7. Once the bottom of the eggs have cooked (the top will still be under-cooked), add cheese to the top.
  8. Cover pan with lid.  Let steam for 5 minutes.
  9. Lift cover and fold omelet in half.
  10. Cook for another 2 minutes, until fully cooked through.
11 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Uncategorized, Vegetarian

11 responses to “Spinach Pesto Omelette

  1. this sounds amazing!!! i love pesto. never thought to put it in an omelet!

  2. I eat eggs every day too…it’s what’s for dinner when a non-cook like me is in charge!

    Looks delicious!

  3. I would definitely put pesto in everything if I could and in an omelet? That sounds just divine!

  4. eggs are a big staple in our kitchen, too. we go through them so fast it’s almost alarming. ha. your omelet look so picture-perfect. I love to add salsa to my eggs.

  5. I’ve been on an eggs kick lately, and this looks so good! Currently my favorite omlette combo is feta and spinach. YUM!

  6. I am crazy for pesto, never tried it with eggs. I have to try this, I am sure I would love it.

  7. Pingback: Pesto Pasta with Spinach, Broccoli and Walnuts | OliePants

  8. Pingback: Parmesan French Toast with Caramelized Onions | OliePants

  9. Pingback: Buttermilk Cornbread | OliePants

  10. Pingback: Orange and Oat Scones | OliePants

  11. Pingback: Your Favorites of 2012 | OliePants

Leave a Reply

