French Toast Casserole

I love French toast.  Remember?  Love it.

I love bread pudding.  Remember?  Loves it.

Now, French toast + bread pudding = this.

This = french toast casserole.

Math is good.

Math is delicious.

This was by far the best breakfast I’ve had in a long time.  The cinnamon-y nutty topping is the best part.  Perfectly eggy. Not mushy.  Perfectly spiced.  With a splash of the boozy.  Meant to be shared.  Your family and/or friends would love you for it.

French Toast Casserole
adapted from Paula Deen

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb day-old challah bread
  • 8 large eggs
  • 2 cups half and half
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 tbsp granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp Grand Marnier
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Praline Topping Ingredients

  • 1 stick of butter (1/4 lb)
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts – only b/c that’s what I had on hand.  Next time, I’ll try pecans
  • 2 tbsp light corn syrup
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
Directions:

  1. Slice challah bread into 1 inch slices.  Arrange slices into a buttered 9 x 13 flat baking dish in two rows.  I overlapped the slices a bit.
  2. In another bowl, whisk together eggs, half and half, milk, sugar, vanilla, Grand Marnier, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt.
  3. Make sure it’s all combined.  Pour mixture over the bread slices to evenly cover all the bread slices.  I had to spoon some of the mix over the bread after pouring to ensure even coverage.
  4. Cover the pan with foil and refrigerate overnight.
  5. The next day, preheat the oven to 350F.  Take off the foil.
  6. Prepare the praline topping by mixing all the praline topping ingredients and blending well.
  7. Spread the praline topping over the bread evenly and bake for 40 minutes, until the bread puffs up and gets golden brown.
  8. Serve warm.

Note:  I don’t think you need maple syrup as it is sufficiently sweet on its own.  However, if you want to, use hot maple syrup.

8 Comments

Filed under baking, Bread, Breakfast, Uncategorized, Vegetarian

8 responses to “French Toast Casserole

  1. I’ve never made french toast casserole but everyone seems to rave about it! I especially like the idea of adding a little booze….. 🙂

  2. What a wonderful idea—and anything with a whole stick of butter is a winner in my book 🙂
    mmmmmmmmmmmm!!

  3. I find it a good thing that the only word I can conjure up to describe this is Whooooooaaaaaaaaa. 😉

  4. I’ve never made anything by Paula Deen but really, this one looks fantastic! How on earth do you have time to cook with a newborn? I am fascinated!

  5. My mom has been asking me to make something like this! I totally forgot about it until now- I am definitely making this for breakfast this weekend 🙂

  6. Damn, you make math look delicious! I want to make this sometime but around the holidays where there is enough people to enjoy it. Not that I care about others enjoying it, I just don’t need to be eating six servings which I could clearly see happening.

  7. Pingback: Spinach Pesto Omelet | OliePants

  8. Pingback: Parmesan French Toast with Caramelized Onions | OliePants

Leave a Reply

