Chocolate Almond Toffee

When I first started dating Binks, around the holiday season six years ago, I made him a care package filled with goodies.  As I had just met him there was no meaning for the packaged goods, other than being delicious and wanting to impress him with deliciousness.  It worked.  Six years and a baby later, I can tell you that he still remembers that package.

The one treat that impressed me the most was toffee.  Considering that working with melting and browning sugar perfectly can be temperamental, this recipe was really forgiving and workable.

Toffee is a staple during the holidays, but considering the history of this simple candy, it means that much more.  Without question, Binks always brings up his first bite of the toffee after opening the package.

Now, to save myself from eating the whole batch, I package it away as edible gifts for friends.

Chocolate Almond Toffee

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 12 oz semi-sweet chocolate chips (I used dark chocolate chips)
  • 1 cup sliced almonds

Directions:

  1. Before beginning, line a cookie sheet with foil.  Cover everything.  I’m ultra-paranoid about candy sticking to the pan so I double wrapped the pan.
  2. Over medium-high heat, in a large, heavy bottomed saucepan, melt the butter, sugar and salt.  Mix constantly.  (Keep the vanilla extract handy.)
  3. Once melted, reduce the heat to medium and stir the mixture continuously until you get it to a boil.  It should be a smooth boil – not a rolling boil.  If it’s a rolling boil, then reduce the heat more.
  4. If you don’t have a candy thermometer, you want to stir until you get the mixture to look like the color of a raw almond, a deep amber.  It’s completely normal in this process for the mixture to become gelatinous and mesh together.  Just remember to keep stirring.  It will get to the amber/almond stage.  Be patient.  Another way to test if the mixture is done is to take a bit of the sugar mixture and drop into ice-cold water.  It should be brittle when it hits the water.
  5. If you have a candy thermometer, the temperature should be 290-300 degrees.
  6. Once the mixture reaches the temperature, remove from heat, add the vanilla extract and mix until incorporated.
  7. Pour the mixture into the pan and it should naturally spread to a good thickness.  I like for it to be 1/4 inch thick.  If not, use a spatula to spread more.  Don’t worry about it being perfect.
  8. Once you are done with the sugar mixture, sprinkle the chocolate chips on top.  The chocolate will melt so take a spatula and spread the chocolate across the toffee mixture.
  9. Sprinkle the almonds over the chocolate, and press the looser almonds slightly into the chocolate to make sure it sticks.
  10. Cool the toffee in the fridge until completely cooled.
  11. Once cooled, break apart into shards.  Store in an airtight container.

 

11 Comments

Filed under Candy, Desserts, Favorites, Holiday, Uncategorized

11 responses to “Chocolate Almond Toffee

  1. Wow, I wouldn’t be able to control myself around this stuff. But maybe I should try making this for a man friend and see if I have your luck with it, eh?

    And apparently I’m Canadian….

  2. I love making this stuff! It’s so addicting, though and dangerous to have around! I LOVE IT.

  3. Aw, that’s really cute that he still remembers 🙂 I LOVE toffee, but I’m too lazy to make it! My grandmother used to make it every year and I have such fond memories of it.

  4. That looks so much better than any Heath bar I’ve ever consumed. 🙂

  5. I love toffee – such a rich & delicious treat. I have to tell you that right when I started dating Billy, I made him a big tray of Christmas treats, and he loved it. I was nervous at the time – funny to think about now. 🙂

  6. I am drooling over this. I love, love toffee. I am a little afraid to make it but it looks so good, I might brave it. Love the addition of almonds too.

  7. Pingback: Spinach Pesto Omelet | OliePants

Leave a Reply

