Dosa & Coconut Chutney

Have you heard of dosa?  Certain Indian restaurants, offering Kerala or South Indian food typically offer masala dosa as a part of the menu.  Masala dosa is just a dosa (cooked thinner) and then filled with potatoes.  Yum!

Dosa (and idly – both made from the same batter, just cooked differently) is a staple in the Kerala cuisine.  It is served as breakfast food, usually served with sambar and/or chutney.  I, on the other hand, love to eat it whenever.  During the beginning of my pregnancy when nausea was at its peak, dosa was all I craved.  Now, while nursing, I still love the stuff as it’s comforting and packed full of nutrients.

Now, if a dough mixed with lentils wasn’t healthy enough, my mom upped the ante as always.  She found chia and hemp seeds in my fridge and went to town.

If you have never had or heard of dosa before, the only thing I can compare it to is injera.  Light, airy and spongy.  All three of those are good things with regard to dosa.  I promise.

Oh and the coconut chutney, I could drink the stuff.  And I do.  I have issues.

Dosa

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup parboiled rice
  • 1/2 cup skinned black lentils (urad dal)
  • 1/4 tsp methi/fenugreek seeds
  • 1/2 tsp salt

 Directions:

  1. In one bowl, after washing the rice, soak the rice with water.  Add enough water to the bowl of rice to where you have water at least an inch above the rice.
  2. In another bowl, soak the lentils and fenugreek with water.  Add enough water to the bowl of lentils and fenugreek to where you have water at least an inch above the rice.
  3. Let both bowls soak overnight.  (At least 6 hours.)
  4. In a blender, grind the lentil mixture until smooth.  Once smooth (like a smoothie), move to a large bowl.
  5. In the blender, grind the rice mixture until smooth.  Add the rice mixture to the lentil mixture.
  6. Stir the mixtures in the bowl until combined.
  7. Cover and let sit overnight on your counter so that it ferments.  When it’s cold in Dallas, I place the covered bowl in the oven with the light on.  It keeps it just warm enough to ferment.
  8. The next day, add salt to the mixture and mix again so incorporated.  The batter should be runny (slightly runnier than pancake batter).  If it’s too thick, just add water, a tablespoon at a time until it’s a runny consistency.
  9. Heat a flat pan over medium heat.
  10. Take a paper towel, soak with oil and rub on pan.
  11. Take about 1/4 cup worth of the batter (I use my ladle) and spoon onto the middle of the pan and swirl the batter out making it thinner.  It should be thickness of a thicker crepe.
  12. Once the bottom of the dosa becomes golden brown, flip over to cook the other side.  You will notice air bubbles on the top of the dosa before the flip.
  13. Cook the other side until golden brown and serve hot.

Coconut Chutney

Ingredients:

  • fresh grated coconut, 1/2 cup
  • 2 shallots, finely chopped
  • mustard seeds, 1/2 tsp
  • cayenne powder, 1/2 tsp
  • 1 red dry chili (optional), broken up into pieces
  • few (2-3) curry leaves (if you can’t find it, don’t worry about it – best with it but go on without it)
  • 1/2 salt
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 cup water, added in increments

Directions:

  1. Blend the coconut, shallots, and cayenne pepper with water until reaches a smooth pancake batter consistency.  You may not use the whole 1/4 cup.
  2. Over a small frying pan, heat oil over medium high heat.
  3. Sputter the  mustard seeds (be careful, it pops).
  4. Add red dry chili and curry leaves.  Cook for about 3 minutes.
  5. Add the coconut/onion mix and salt.  Cook for about 5 minutes.
  6. Serve with dosa.
8 Comments

Filed under Indian, Uncategorized, Vegetarian

8 responses to “Dosa & Coconut Chutney

  1. Happy New Year! I have never heard of dosa before but it sounds delicious. And it is making me want some Indian food right now… 🙂

  2. did you know that NZ is the king of chutney? Girl I think you’d fit right in here. Yum!

  3. looks delicious! and I love the short ingredient list. 🙂

  4. I love dosa, love injera… and I thank you for saying injera and reminding me I have a groupon for Ethiopian food I need to use!! 🙂

  5. Oh wow! I’m so impressed by your dosa. I’ve tried making them (with my mom’s assistance) a number of times, but they never turn out right. My fiance’s family is from Kerala and they often eat plain dosas with honey. His mom calls them dessert dosas!

  6. Pingback: Parmesan French Toast with Caramelized Onions | OliePants

  7. Pingback: Your Favorites of 2012 | OliePants

Leave a Reply

