Nutella Bread Pudding

There are some things that are fairly universally liked.  For example – Billie Jean by Michael Jackson, Steel Magnolias, Jon Hamm, newborn baby smell, and Nutella.  Right now, I’m thoroughly enjoying the latter two.

Binks and I are now enjoying our newest addition to the family, Isaiah.  He looks a little like this right now.

He is perfect.  (Better pictures to come later.)

And, here is my Nutella.

And it is perfect.

When I saw this, I knew I wanted to make it for Thanksgiving dessert.  And, let me tell you, over the pies and through the moon, this dessert went quick!  We barely had any left overs.  And what we had, we enjoyed!

And it worked perfectly for the family gathering.  It wasn’t overly sweet so the parental units were able to enjoy without feeling they were going to into a diabetic coma and the younger adults were able to enjoy Nutella at its finest and most comforting.  I could totally make this and eat this for brunch any day.  Perhaps Christmas morning.

And it could not have been easier to make.

Nutella Bread Pudding
adapted from here

Ingredients:
–  1/2 package of 1-2 day-old Hawaiian sweet bread
–  3/4 cup Nutella
–  1/4 cup pecan halves
–  2 eggs
–  1 cup heavy cream
–  1 tsp vanilla extract
–  1/4 tsp salt
–  powdered sugar for dusting

Directions:
–  Preheat oven to 350F.
–  Roast pecans in a pan for about 5 minutes over med-high heat.  Be careful not to burn.
–  Slice each bread roll in half.  Spread with a heft amount of Nutella.
–  Place in a glass baking dish where there is no empty space after putting in all the sandwiched pieces.
–  Sprinkle roasted pecans over bread pieces.
–  Make custard:  Whisk together eggs,  cream, vanilla, and salt.
–  Pour over the bread pieces.  You can wait a bit (I waited 15 minutes) to make sure the bread pieces are soaked through.
–   Cover with foil and bake for 30 minutes.  Remove foil and bake uncovered for an additional 10 minutes.  I baked for about 12 because I like my bread pudding a little drier.  The bread pudding should be golden brown on top.
–  Remove from oven and let cool.
–  Prior to serving, sprinkle with powdered sugar.

14 Comments

Filed under baking, Desserts, Holiday, Vegetarian

14 responses to “Nutella Bread Pudding

  1. TayabIqbal

    1. Congratulations on your new born baby!
    2. Michael Jackson is the man
    3. Bread Pudding is a winner
    4. Nutella is gorgeous
    So 3+4 = a gorgeous bread pudding!

  2. I never thought I’d be saying this but I want to see less Nutella and more Isaiah! Congratulations! I can’t wait to hear more and hope everyone is healthy and happy 🙂

  3. Congratulations!! I was literally just thinking about you this morning and wondering if you had given birth. Isaiah is such a cutie!

  4. Congratulations!!!!!!!!!! He’s perfect, and I love the name Isaiah. So happy for you and Binks. New healthy baby and nutella – what could be better?? Enjoy every minute! xoxo

  5. More Isaiah and less Nutella please…although I never thought I’d write that either. 🙂 He’s gorgeous! Congratulations!

  6. Congratulations!! Isaiah looks perfect.
    Oh and you know that you and I share a love for Nutella – this recipe is going to be bookmarked! Happy holidays! 🙂

  7. he is beautiful!!! i wanna see more pics and hear all about him!!!

  8. OMG, he’s gorgeous!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can’t wait to see more of him! Congratulations!

  9. Congrats on your perfect little angel!!! Welcome to the world, Isaiah!!! ❤

  10. Congratulations on your beautiful baby boy! I cannot wait to see more photos of his sweet face 🙂 So glad that everyone is healthy and happy!

  11. You’re right on all counts. 🙂 So happy for you & Binks. Keep the pics coming!

  12. Amy

    ahhh baby!! he’s so precious. congrats!!! the nutella is precious too but not near as precious as that cute boy!

  13. Pingback: French Toast Casserole | OliePants

Leave a Reply

