Spinach Artichoke Dip

Spinach artichoke dip is pretty much a staple at most parties I attend.  I, however, didn’t jump on this dip-wagon until very recently – that is, when I played around with a recipe that has a lot of flavor.  (I can’t stand a bland, runny and stringy spinach artichoke dip.)

When Foodbuzz asked me to sample their new Classico Light Alfredo sauce (through the Tastemaker Program), I was thrilled – and around the time of my baby shower to boot!  I was thrilled to test out a lower-fat version of my favorite dip.  What’s not to love than a lighter version of our favorite recipes that doesn’t taste lighter?

I must say, that when it comes to Alfredo sauces, “light” usually denotes a product that tastes sweeter due to the lesser fat content and higher sugar content.  Lucky for me (and my guests), the Classico Light didn’t have this issue at all.

And, I know because I thoroughly enjoyed the leftovers – below is all that I had after the baby shower!

Spinach Artichoke Dip

Adapted from here

Ingredients:

–  1 jar of Classico Light Creamy Alfredo Sauce
–  1 tbsp granulated garlic
–  1 tsp red pepper flakes (adjust to taste)
–  1/2 (8 oz)  package of light cream cheese
–   1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, divided
–  1 tsp salt
–  1/2 tsp pepper
–  1 (14 oz) can of artichoke hearts, drained and chopped
–  1 (10 oz) frozen spinach, thawed and drained
–   1/2 cup mozzarella cheese, grated, divided

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 350F.
2.  Mix together all ingredients, except 1/4 cup of Parmesan cheese and 1/4 cup of mozzarella cheese.
3.  Spread mixed ingredients into an 8×8 baking dish.
4.  Mix the remaining 1/4 cup of Parmesan cheese and 1/4 cup of mozzarella cheese.
5.  Sprinkle on top of the mixed ingredients.
6.  Cover with foil and bake for 30 minutes.
7.   Uncover and bake for 12-15 minutes until bubbly and slightly browned on top.

4 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, baking, garlic, Uncategorized, Vegetarian

4 responses to “Spinach Artichoke Dip

  1. yummmmm, i never used to like this dip until recently. now i love ordering it at restaurants. don’t love how unhealthy it is though. this looks great!

  2. That’s one of my favorite recipes, actually. I found it on all recipes I think… and have always used Classico sauce… mmm yum. I like it with pita bread the best.

  3. I have such fond memories of that alfredo sauce! I used to eat it every day for lunch when I was in high school with a whole bag of pasta. Ah, the good days 🙂

  4. Pingback: Isaiah’s Curious George Themed First Birthday Party | OliePants

Leave a Reply

