Baby Shower Goods

I have been in a work-related whirlwind for the past three weeks.  The end of this whole mess was marked by the most fantabulous baby shower I have ever received.  Well, I’m not one for surprises and I wanted to be involved.  I donated my baking abilities.  Remember the smorgasbord?

After a grueling three weeks of response writing, which at the end included a grand total of 600 complied documents, 60 of which were my written product, I went on a baking spree.

Meet the results.  (Lemon Blossoms from here; Goat Cheese Terrine from here; Mexican Wedding Cookies from here.)

And, some additional items.  (Pumpkin bread and chocolate cookies – recipes to come)

My mom made Southwestern Egg Rolls – yep, she’s that awesome, and my MIL made her famous chicken salad sandwiches on croissant.

It was foodie heaven.

And presents and decorations heaven.

I must say that this really did mark the beginning of nesting and preparing for the new baby’s arrival.  I have had baby on the brain night and day.  I plan on balancing that out with more baking.  🙂

How do you unwind?  Do you cook your stress away?

12 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, baking, Cake, Cookies, Desserts, Favorites, Pregnancy

12 responses to “Baby Shower Goods

  1. OMG, I always BAKE the stress away (and eat some cookie dough in the process!).
    Your shower looks beautiful!!

  2. everything looks delicious!!!! and you KNOW i’m a huge stress baker.

  3. Awwww, looks like such a fun shower! And now I want some sw eggrolls and chicken salad.

    I am not a huge baker so I dont stress bake but I definitely take it out on the cutting board……or drink a bottle of wine. Whatever is closer to me.

  4. What a beautiful shower! I’m so glad you had a chance to unwind….

    When I want to relax I stay OUT of the kitchen. Nothing stresses me out more than more dirty dishes. 🙂

  5. Everything looks so delicious! I am not big into baking, but I like to cook something special it helps with the stress.

  6. What a beautiful baby shower! I love that you have such supportive people in your life. 🙂 I tend to unwind with exercise – walk, bike, run, YOGA!

  7. I either bake or run my stress away. Lately it’s been more running, but I figure that’s because I’m also preparing myself for the big holiday baking season… weeee!

    I’m glad you had a fantastic baby shower!

  8. Sometimes I make stuff in the kitchen to de-stress….but in general, walking or exercising works a little better for me since there’s no mess to clean up at the end!

  9. Oooo, those lemon blossoms look fantastic! 🙂

  10. Your workload sounds intense! You must be glad it’s out of the way. The shower looks like it was a lot of fun and I am loving the spread! I love baking and am looking forward to getting back into it once we move next weekend 🙂

  11. Pingback: Spinach Artichoke Dip | OliePants

  12. Pingback: Mexican Wedding Cookies | OliePants

Leave a Reply

