More Protein Please!

With the pregnancy, I’ve been hungrier than ever.  The best way I keep myself filled and fulfilled?  Protein.  Lately, my oatmeal and smoothie breakfasts have not been able to keep me full long enough.  I must admit that my oatmeal bowls are heavy on the fruit but I totally forget to incorporate protein.

So, recently when a vendor came to visit and do a little ad blurb, she brought breakfast.  The best kind – the Central Market kind.

{Cranberry Blueberry Muffins}

Plus fresh strawberries and pineapple

Talk about delicious

And this is no ordinary muffin.  Usually muffins are stingy on the fruit but not this one.

So, why am I talking about protein and showing you pictures of carbs galore?

Because yesterday’s breakfast was given a protein makeover.

Fage yogurt (because, to me, there is none better), Justin’s chocolate hazelnut butter (Nutella’s serious competition), and the fruity muffins.

I split the Justin’s nut butter with Binks.

Okay, I cannot even describe how delicious this bowl of goodness was.  I savored this meal for a good 30 minutes, which definitely beats my usual 30 second inhalation of my morning cereal.

With combos like this, incorporating more protein will not be so difficult!

How do you incorporate more protein into your breakfast? 

13 Comments

Filed under Bread, Breakfast, Vegetarian

13 responses to “More Protein Please!

  1. oh YUM that muffin looks fab. I’ve never used a muffin as topping, but that sure looks good. I go in phases with my breakfast, right now it’s a crazy cereal I made up myself. Eggs or spinach smoothie for protein.

  2. Susan, there was definitely more fruit than there was muffin in that wonderful treat! I love muffins like those – they get your hands all dirty from the fruit. I am in love with Justin’s Maple Almond Butter. I could eat that for days! I don’t even think I should go near the Chocolate Hazelnut. Danger!

  3. that muffin looks DELICIOUS! i want one.

  4. Oooh topping yogurt with hazelnut butter and crumbled muffin sounds great! I usually eat about a tablespoon of nut butter with my breakfast, and if I’m in the mood for something savory, nothing beats eggs!

  5. I’ve been diggin’ Justin’s little pb packets. I take it as a snack and just squeeze it into my mouth! YUM! I have the hazelnut one but have yet to try it! For breakfast, I try to do the FAGE and granola thing. Crumbling a muffin and squirting some hazelnut…umm crazy good idea!

  6. OMG that creation looks messy and amazing. I must have it!

    One word: BACON!

    Ok I lie, I’m too lazy to make bacon in the morning but have eggs, greek yogurt, smoothies with protein powder and such.

  7. Breakfast looks so good, and that’s why I hate to burst your bubble… but yogurt and peanuts totally make my skin worse.

    Also, Jay ( my current guru) introduced me to brown rice protein powder and it’s totally okay! Not good but decent and it doesn’t make my skin break out at all! Just thought I’d throw that out there in case you are looking for something to keep you full.

  8. This looks like a dream dessert! I really need to try Justin’s 🙂

  9. Wow, that muffin looks amazing! I’ve actually been making “protein waffles” for breakfast lately to get more protein in my diet. But you need more protein than I do – grow, baby, grow! 🙂

  10. Amy

    those muffins look ridiculous! i usually eat eggs or somehow incorporate protein powder into my breakfast

Leave a Reply

