The Amazing Grass Challenge – Completed Plus

A few weeks ago, I told you I was doing the Amazing Grass 2 week challenge.  Well, it’s been more than 2 weeks.  Forgive me.

Why did I forget?

Because, I’m still doing it.

So, what did I do?

Well, Amazing Grass sends you a meal plan and if you review it, nothing is lacking.  If you are a vegetarian or vegan, you can pretty much customize the plan to fit the lifestyle.  If you are a meat eater, there are plenty of options for you as well.  It’s a great system and it really just fit with good wholesome whole-foods eating.  It’s great for anyone in my opinion.

One of the main things lacking in health-related programs is the option to choose or to customize.  I don’t want to feel deprived of anything  as it makes me want it even more.  In the Amazing Grass Challenge plan, I really felt like I could mix and match so long as I was eating whole foods and filling up on fruits and veggies.

I didn’t follow the meal plan to a T because there were some things I just did not want to eat.  Specifically, I personally cut out the following for two weeks – refined sugars, white bread, white flour, and red meat.  Honestly, out of the list, the white flour based products were the hardest.

So, what did I eat?

I drank/ate a lot of smoothies – all delicious and all different.

I ate a lot of healthy and filling grain-y breakfasts.

I loaded up on my favorite summer fruit.

I incorporated super foods that I don’t usually cook with or eat often enough.

I usually don’t use cinnamon that much as it isn’t my favorite spice.  But, I have been sprinkling it on my morning cereals, which have been fantastic.

In addition, Amazing Grass is pretty much full of super foods (spirulina, chlorella, etc.) so I was getting it that way too!

So, how did I feel?

Great would be an understatement.  Mind you, I was having the Berry Superfoods mixed with organic apple juice pretty much 3/week prior to the challenge.  So, adding a smoothie/drink every morning with the Amazing Meal was just perfect.  I really didn’t miss the candy/cookies/cake and really indulged in fruit in place of it.  I didn’t miss white flour products as really there so many different options out there these days (Ezekiel bread, etc.).

I really felt great overall.  I had less gas and bloat (pardon me), felt lighter overall (less weighed down), and wasn’t hitting my usual tiredness and declines during certain portions of my day (usually after eating).

Summary

Trust me when I say that I’m not one to stick to anything.  Especially when the anything is something related to my food intake.  I hate feeling limited or that I cannot eat the things I want.  Once I started, I really thought I was going to hate it or miss things.  I didn’t.  When I was done, I’ll be lying if I said I didn’t have this M&M cookie.  I only had one – b/c that’s all I wanted.  But, this challenge really wasn’t about dieting or restrictions for me.  It was about changing my eating habits (especially after vacation), and getting back on the road to good eating.

And, that my friends, is why I still do it – because it’s an addition, not a subtraction.  And, in addition, when I’m incubating another person inside me that eats what I eat, I want to make sure it’s full of super foods and free of crap – well as crap free as I can be.

I am human after all.

🙂

How do you incorporate super foods into your diet?

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “The Amazing Grass Challenge – Completed Plus

  1. I love cinnamon, I have it in my morning coffee and oats when I eat them. I love blueberries as well and can just eat them by the handful.

    Sounds like an interesting eat plan. Personally, I don’t believe in plans that have you eating multiple smoothies a day since for me, thats just not realistic with my every day life but more power to you if you dig it.

  2. I love the amazing grass products—I’m not surprised you’re sticking with it! Mindset is so important when it comes to improvements. If it feels like punishment, it is punishment! But I always tell people—let’s not force you to do things you don’t want to do, let’s just work on changing what you want to do!

  3. Amy

    love cinnamon in my oatmeal…and on a lot of other things! i really like amazing grass superfood chocolate powder..its so tasty! ive actually only had it in smoothies though so maybe ill throw some in my oatmeal!

  4. Glad you did the 2-week challenge! I’ve done it before, too, and felt great. I eat pretty clean most of the time, but I’d love to take on a new challenge sometime soon.

  5. Congrats for sticking to it! I LOVE cinnamon- I put it in everything!

  6. I haven’t had the Amazing Grass products yet…they are SO expensive around here. I should probably just order them on the Internet but I am lazy.

    I am about to embark on my own little 2 week challenge…cross your fingers that I make it out unscathed!!

    • You’ll do great. I get coupons here and there (check the AG website) for $5 off at a time. So, I definitely take advantage of it. And, it lasts for a while.

  7. So glad it all worked out so well for you! And I love what you wrote about it being an addition to your life instead of restricting from other things. 🙂

  8. Steven

    How much weight did you lose?

Leave a Reply

