So, A Priest and A Lawyer Come for Lunch…

Binks and I had our priest over for lunch.  I was given one day’s notice (he travels a lot) and thought of a great easy lunch idea that won’t leave you weighed down.

Hot mini ham and cheese sandwiches (spread with a mustard and butter mix – trust me it was good)


Cucumber sandwiches with a dash of Tabasco mixed into the cream cheese – it totally makes a difference.

Salad with homemade dressing (red wine vinegar, dijon mustard, lemon juice, olive oil, fresh black pepper, and a pinch of cumin).  And you can see a tiny portion of the M&M cookies we had for dessert.

The most delicious pasta salad ever!  (I reduced the oregano and the whole salad could have easily been missing the pepperoni.)

I ate this pasta salad for the remainder of the week.  Refreshing and totally hits the spot.  I have to say the tiny bits of cheese were perfect to bite into.

All in all, it was a great time with a good friend and food.

The lunch inadvertently lasted from noon to 5 p.m.  Thank goodness for sandwich snacks along the way.

What would you serve for a lunch gathering?  (I might be the only one but I love dreaming up menus for different events.  Judge me if you wish.)

10 Comments

Filed under Bread, Cookies, Desserts, Lunch, olive oil, Uncategorized

10 responses to “So, A Priest and A Lawyer Come for Lunch…

  1. I would probably make similar things to what you did. I have sometimes tried to be creative, and then have it backfire on me 🙂

  2. no judgement here, I LOVE to create and plan menus and have events big and small. so fun! those sandwiches sound amazing. can I come to your next luncheon? I’ll bring dessert…

  3. Chopped egg sandwiches are SO easy and look so complex! Those, along with bakery bought scones, a few baked TJ appetizers, and a salad make a simple lunch that appears to have taken a lot longer than it did!

  4. I totally want to have lunch with you… it all looks amazing!! 🙂

  5. My mom makes really similar ham and cheese sandwiches with mustard and butter too! I used to love them 🙂

  6. I love the mini sandwiches! Lunch gatherings would be hard for me (since my lunch is usually a salad or something similar…). I’d probably do sandwiches or mini tacos with a big side or two of greens/veggies. Substance, but on the lighter side. 🙂

  7. I would do a dessert lunch! Maybe a sundae bar? Or build your own brownie bar? I can’t help it – I love me some sweets. 🙂

  8. Pingback: The Amazing Grass Challenge – Completed Plus | OliePants

  9. Pingback: Cream Cheese Pound Cake | OliePants

  10. Pingback: Isaiah’s Curious George Themed First Birthday Party | OliePants

Leave a Reply

