I Roll, You Roll

We all should roll for egg rolls.

You may know have a thing for frying things in the house.  In case you don’t know – I hate it.  But, it seems like that egg rolls serve as the exception.  If you tried these, you too would agree.

Surprisingly the whole process was pretty easy and the results were extraordinary.

Cute eh?

And after a good fry…

Egg Rolls
–   adapted from here

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound ground chicken (or ground pork)
  • 1 tsp grated ginger
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 quart oil for frying
  • 1 tbsp flour
  • 1 tbsp water
  • 4 cups cole slaw mix
  • 2 packages of egg roll wrapper packs (usually each has 24 wrappers)

Directions:

  1. Mix ground chicken with garlic and ginger.
  2. Heat ground chicken until cooked through.  Set aside.
  3. In a small bowl, mix together the flour and water until it is a paste.  Set aside.
  4. Lay out one egg roll wrapper with a corner facing you.
  5. Place a spoonful of the ground meat mixture into the wrapper.
  6. Fold up and over the corner until the meat mixture is covered.
  7. Fold the left and right corners towards the middle.
  8. Roll the remainder of the roll until you get to the very top.
  9. Using your finger, apply some of the flour mixture to the top to glue together the top to the rest of the egg roll.
  10. Make the egg rolls and set aside on a plate.  Do not overlap egg rolls.  The egg rolls should not touch.
  11. Heat oil over medium high heat until hot.  I usually test a small strip of the egg roll wrapper to see if it is hot enough. The test strip should sizzle and start to fry as it hits the oil and not smoke.  
  12. Once the oil is heated, add the egg rolls.  Do not crowd.
  13. Cook until golden brown on both sides.
  14. Once cooked, remove and place on a paper towel lined plate to absorb any excess oil.
  15. Serve hot.
14 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, Asian, Chinese, Uncategorized

14 responses to “I Roll, You Roll

  1. Wow! I am so impressed that you made these. Anytime something requires being rolled up, I just flounder. Tortillas, egg rolls, etc. It always ends in a misadventure or with ingredients simply strewn everywhere from falling out 🙂

  2. Unfortunately, I love fried foods. I am bookmarking this in my google reader, it sounds easy to make!

  3. These are impressive!! We don’t have a fryer at home, otherwise I’d fry pretty much everything! Haha. 🙂

  4. I’m not a huge fan of fried things either, but will always love a good egg roll too!

  5. Wait, it this a part of your detox? Just kidding!!

    They sound and look amazing. Even though I usually don’t eat fried things I do find it hard to resist an egg roll!

  6. i never liked egg rolls…but i think i just my try this to prove my self wrong

  7. Nice work! I really don’t know the ins and outs of frying stuff on my own- not sure if this is good or bad? :p

  8. These remind me of the eggrolls from the Philippines called lumpia. I’ve only made them once and now have a strong urge to cook some egg rolls very soon…

Leave a Reply

