I Should Have Yelped.

To Yelp Or Not To Yelp.   That was the question.

Throughout the San Francisco to San Diego road trip, I was glued to my iPhone.  My phone served as a map and most importantly – a restaurant rater.  In Dallas, I rarely Yelp.  But, in an unknown place, I Yelp.

Needless to say, Binks got severely irritated and like I said, around Big Sur, got sick of it.  And, I got it.  I’m on a scenic road trip and I spend most of my time looking at a tiny phone screen.  I too got sick of it.

After walking down State St. in Santa Barbara, we worked up a small appetite.  Binks said he would pick a place (sans Yelp) and it would be great.

Binks is a liar.

He picked Uncle Roccoco’s.

You know Binks and his pizza.  How bad could a pizzeria be you ask?

Red Flag 1:  Offering New York Pizza in Santa Barbara.

Red Flag 2:  New cheese on top of old cheese on top of an old pizza slice.

Red Flag 3:  It tasted gross.

Let’s say after this colossal failure, Binks never complained about using Yelp again.

Do you Yelp?  Are you addicted to your phone?

14 Comments

Filed under Vacation

14 responses to “I Should Have Yelped.

  1. I use urban spoon – just like yelp… on our road trip recently, Jason was using an app that was SO fun – he’d say “deli sandwich” into his phone and it would give us (via satellite) the nearest places to find one… then we’d look at reviews. SO fun and effective! 🙂

  2. See, Binks should have used the Yelp! New cheese on top of old cheese is never a good idea-sorry for your bad experience.

    I heart the Yelp so much but have a blackberry and the app sucks on my phone. So if I am going out of town, I look ahead of time.

  3. I’m like you—I yelp while traveling! We definitely yelped everything last week while in Florida 🙂

  4. ha, my phone is pretty old-school and there’s not much to want to look at. sorry to hear the pizza was so disappointing!

  5. I always Yelp or Metromix. Or both. Depending on how big of a deal it is… lol

  6. I am all about Yelp! It hasn’t done me wrong yet. I need to find time to write reviews for Yelp though. I hear if you write enough you get coupons and invites to special food events!

  7. Oh man! Too bad you didn’t go to Rusty’s- it has THE BEST PIZZA EVER. Yes, all caps- it’s that good! My mom worked there when she was a teenager, hehe.

  8. Oh no! That is such a giant bummer! I don’t usually use Yelp, but I might start now! You must come to New York for good pizza 🙂

  9. I’m a Yelper, for sure. I get a little slack in doing my reviews (shame on me!), but I use it All. The. Time. Both in town, and on vacation. I also check out UrbanSpoon at times, but like Yelp better.

    ~

  10. Pingback: Detoxing After Ranch Attack | OliePants

  11. We love Yelp! It kind of failed me this past weekend, though. We knew we were in trouble when the restaurant was completely empty when we sat down! Ha!

  12. I Yelp like it’s my job. I seriously didn’t know what I did before Yelp gave me other people’s opinions on where I should eat.

  13. Hell yea I yelp!! I’m a yelpaholic!!! When my husband went to puerto rico he yelped there! hahaha

Leave a Reply

