Two Years

Binks and I have been married for 2 years.  Our anniversary was a couple of days ago.  The San Fran to San Diego road trip was in celebration for our anniversary.  But, what did we do the day of?

You would think (on a work day), we would go to a nice dinner here in Dallas – a city known for and full of beautiful and lovely restaurants.  But, where did we go on the day of?

To my friend Wendy’s house.  Have you met her?

{Mine}

No, I just don’t crave fast food to where it’s considered my special meals.

{His}

‘Tis a story similar to this.

When we got married, we had an outside caterer – Indian food, of course.  The plan was that the hotel and/or caterer were to save two plates of food for us to enjoy once the wedding was done and we went back to our room.

As expected, no one remembered, and we had nothing to eat.  You would think that one would not think about food on the wedding night after such a fabulous party.  After not eating for 8 hours and lots of drinking until 1 a.m., eating was absolutely the first thing on my mind.

We drove around for some special late night eats but only ran across a Wendy’s.  Hungry can’t be picky.  And really, I’m not a food snob.  I ate Wendy’s at least once a week when I was in college because it was conveniently placed in the student union.

We drove to the drive-thru window.  Me, being the ecstatic new-bride I was, was yelling to the Wendy’s employee, “I just got married and this is our wedding meal!”  It wasn’t my classiest bride moment.  Needless to say the employee just looked at me like I was nuts.  I don’t blame her.  I had on a sari (not a dress) and of course, the obvious – I was screaming.

Binks and I ordered, took the food to our room and ate on our hotel room balcony overlooking the Las Colinas lake.  We had chocolate covered strawberries for dessert – courtesy of the hotel.

It was a beautiful night.

And our anniversary lunch was eaten at work, but was spent talking about our past two years and the three years before that.  Some good.  Some bad.  All worth it.

 Have you been to Wendy’s house?  What are your anniversary or special occasion traditions with your loved one(s)?  

15 Comments

Filed under Life, Uncategorized

15 responses to “Two Years

  1. That’s an adorable story… so sweet.

    Our 5 year anniversary is TOMORROW, and we are headed up to Asheville for the long holiday weekend, to celebrate! Asheville is where we met (I lived there – he did not) and fell in love. So although we no longer live there, it’s a special part of us. And a darn cool city, to boot. We are going to visit our favorite haunts; and of course, dine at the vegetarian restaurant where we had our first (rather awkward) date! I can’t wait. 🙂

    ~

  2. this is too funny. I love that you did this. We lived and got married in kona so we always had sushi and thai food. But at our wedding, we made sure to EAT. What can I say, we were HANGRY without it. haha.

  3. Happy anniversary! I don’t know why but I want to call Binks Binkle Berryboo, it just came to mnd and no clue why.

    I’ve been to Wendy’s casa many many times. I am totally content with getting a side of chili, baked potato and calling that a meal!

  4. Awwwwwww…….this is so cute! Such a great tradition! It’s been a long time since I’ve been to Wendy’s, but I’m not against it. 🙂

  5. Happy anniversary 🙂

    I haven’t been to Wendy’s in a long time, but I used to loooove her Frosties 🙂

  6. Happy anniversary! This is such a cute story. Food – whether fancy or not – always becomes more special when there are memories attached to it. I wish you guys many more Wendy’s meals and happiness in the years to come!

  7. Happy anniversary! I love this story! I could totally see myself doing the same thing. LOL!

    My bf and I have been dating for almost 6 years but we really have no annv. traditions. 😦 I hope to change this when we’re married of course!

  8. I LOVED this post. How cute!! I would be screaming if I hadn’t eaten for 8 hours straight too! I think Wendy’s smells awesome…I just love the aroma from fast foods places. I hope Wendy’s knows how lucky it is that you had your wedding meal there!

  9. I LOVE this story! I’ve been to Wendy’s house a time or two {thousand} 🙂 You should pimp this story to Wendy’s for some coupons for next year. 🙂

  10. Pingback: How To Eat A Cheese Steak Sandwich by Oliepants | OliePants

  11. happy anniversary!!! we always eat wendy’s on june 25th, the day we closed on and moved into our house because that was the only thing we could find for dinner that night 🙂

  12. aw, then you HAD to go to “your friend Wendy’s” – this is an awesome story! 🙂

Leave a Reply

